Fetching Pink Mitts

February 17, 2008 § Leave a comment

I just finished the first Fetching mitt for Linda. It’s pink, and brilliant. The color, eh, I’m not much of a pink fan, but the mitt itself is just awesome. I’m using Lana Grossa Merino 2000 in col. 537 on 4mm needles. It’s a little too thin to make these really warm mitts, but they’ll be awesome for semi-warm spring/early summer nights, and they’re just so small and handsome and pretty! I’m probably gonna make mine in a nice yellow or spring green (or striped? or a pair of each? with matching hairbands! I’m sure I’ll have plenty left after the second one)

And the cables! I’m kinda sick of cables after 1 3/4 of Irish Hiking Scarf (3 cables every 8 rows for freaking 6ft per scarf. ungggh) and those are C4Bs for the left hand, which kinda suck, but the result is still worth it.

The changes I had to make to accommodate the slightly off gauge were as follows:

instead of 18 rows of 4×1, do 6cm measured w/o needle (22)

5 instead of 4 between thumb and cable round

Thumb: 8 on upper needle, 7 on lower (that’s just what I ended up with, for some reason)

oh, and I accidentally did the third cable row after 4 rows instead of 5, which is actually prettier than even-sized cables, it looks more delicate now.

But, yeah. Fetching ahoy!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fetching Pink Mitts at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

