I’m too sekkrit for my yarn

February 21, 2008 § Leave a comment

Of all my current WIPS, my Sooper Sekkrit project is my favorite. I took a break after I got to halftime, doing Linda’s gloves first, cause I only have one set of 4mm dpns, but now I’m back with full force.

I’m using Lana Grossa’s Baby Alpaca in khaki and teal for this, and the colors look amazing together. The khaki makes the teal pop so much it’s ridiculous. I hope there’s plenty teal left over afterwards – the pattern calls for 4 skeins total and I’ve used about half of a skein of each color, so I’m very very hopeful. And it’s so soft! (honestly, it’s ridiculously soft. I just wanna touch it all day) And the fabric it produces is so firm and cuddly and warm!

Ah man, I wish I could show pictures already *wibbles* but then it wouldn’t be completely secret, wouldn’t it? I even vowed not to blog about this except I gotta get my excitement off my chest somehow :D But yeah, mmmmmh, teal. I suppose I could show just the skeins I haven’t started yet.

See how purty it is? Even though the photos really don’t do the teal justice, it’s so much richer in real life. Ah, teal. *wibbles*

I modified the original pattern a little, substituting 2×2 rib for 1×1, since I really, really can’t stand 1×1 outside of sock legs, and even there I can barely tolerate it. 2×2 just looks so much more like rib, and 1×1 always looks like someone botched it to me. /rant

If this goes as well as the first half, I should be done with this in a day or two. The weekend, at most. I’ll need to copy some of the pattern out so I can take it with me to the knitting cafe in Dortmund tomorrow.

Ah man, I can’t wait for the person to see this. Whoo!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m too sekkrit for my yarn at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

