Grumble mumble

June 20, 2008 § Leave a comment

WWKIP Day (World Wide Knit in Public Day) on the 14th was something I’d been looking forward to ever since I knew there was something going down in Cologne. I looked for people, sort of organized going there together by train, splitting the cost to keep it low – and then, va-voom, tonsilitis. A miracle I made it through the 3 hour graduation ceremony on Friday and through the graduation dance on Sunday (drugged up this time), but Saturday was just impossible. Fever, shivers under three warm blankets, crippling headaches, the whole deal. -.- Let’s just say I’m really, really mad at my body.

I started spinning again on Tuesday or Wednesday simply because I could. not. spend any more time in bed. Really thin singles I’m pretty proud of, and they’re almost even :D I spun some bits of grey merino to try thin spinning, and now I got out a big ol’ thing of white Merino roving. I’m about half through what I assume is close to 100g, so I might actually be able to do something with it :D I spun and plied some pretty bulky, uneven stuff that ended up being about 44g, and I’m still looking for something to do with so little yarn – it’s only just over 20m (23yd).

Anyway, point being, I read about 4000 pages between Saturday and now, even with all the sleeping and headaches, I just needed to do something different. And knitting… my comp’s broken, so no music, movies or anything. And consequently no knitting. Knitting without anything on the side (music, movie, friends, family, whatever) is just not my thing. I hope it can be fixed, I signed up for a toy (sheep) swap over on Ravelry.

Speaking of music, the new Coldplay album Viva la Vida or Death and all his Friends is the best album I have ever listened to. I’m serious. It beats Die Ärzte, they usually have one or two songs on an album I don’t like (13 is the exception), but Viva la Vida is brilliant. BRILLIANT. Go get it.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Grumble mumble at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

