Long time no blog…

March 1, 2009 § Leave a comment

I’ve decided to try and blog more about my knitting. I mean, seriously, with the amount of time I spend doing it, it’s a shame I don’t document it more. So, I’m back, just in time for one hell of an exciting time: I’m going to the US for two weeks, and it’s yarn shopping time!!!

Being the person that I am, I’ve already made a comprehensive table vaguely titled ‘YARN SHOPATHON 2009’ , with columns for project name, size, yarn weight, yardage requirement, suggested fiber and suggested colors, and six fairly large-scale projects listed.

I managed to narrow my extensive Ravelry queue down to three cardis and three shawls, which, by accident or fate, all require around 1000-1500 yards of yarn, albeit in various weights. These are the times where it sucks to be a) tall and b) a fatty, cause if I was short and petite, I could probably afford all six projects, while now I’ll have to see about which projects I find the perfect yarn for before my money runs out.

For starters, there’s the Tempest Cardi, which I definitely want to make. What’s especially exciting about this is that Finger Lakes Fibers actually carries Fleece Artist yarns, and I’m hoping the BFL/merino fingering, too. I’ve never touched BFL in my life, but after hearing all kinds of great things about it, my expectations as well as my excitement level are pretty high. However, the thin yarn aspect of it (while making it relatively cheap and, most of all, light) is kind of scary for someone of my size. To be honest, I haven’t even looked at how many stitches I’ll have to cast on, simply because I fear that would slightly dampen my enthusiasm. Cough. But – big needles!

Then there’s the Inverness Cardi. I used to be simply in love with this, but somehow my excitement slipped a bit in the past week or so. I don’t know why, but this is somewhere at the end of my priority list. Even though it’s DK yarn, but it’s suggested to be knit in a cotton blend, and if there’s a natural fiber I hate to knit, it’s cotton. It’s so hard on the hands!

I’ve only very recently started to consider making a February Lady Sweater. Everybody’s doing it now, it seems, but it is a gorgeous pattern. Thicker yarn too, though that means more weight and more money to be spent.

But what I’m most excited about are shawls. I’ve never seen lace-weight yarn here in Germany, so I knit my two shawls in sport (5-ply) and fingering weight yarns. Which was a lot of fun, mind you, but somehow it feels like it wasn’t, you know, the real thing. Not real lace. So now that I’m going to a country that seems to have enough laceweight to pave the streets with, I’m going to try and buy a couple of kilometers’ worth of it :D

There’s Muir, which I’ve been lusting after ever since it came out, and would have made long ago if it wasn’t for the lack of availability of lace yarns, the miles and miles of really thin yarn, and my low confidence in my knitting skills at such a large scale. And then I left the low confidence behind, replaced it with cockiness, and here I am, looking the Muir challenge bravely in the knee. So to speak. God, that’s a lot of yarn.

Then I definitely want to make another Swallowtail shawl, with more budding lace repeats and in finer yarn. I had loads of fun making Python, and it took me less than a week, too. This time around, if I can give it away, it’s definitely going to my grandma. She’s in the hospital at the moment, without any knitted things whatsoever – I left my Sand Shawl there for before and after the surgery, but she insisted I take it back with me when I visited her. So a shawl is definitely in order for her.

And then, last but not least, there’s the Mohana shawl, which, after my initial paragraph on how fingering weight shawls aren’t really the real thing, seems kind of hypocritical. But I am a fickle, fickle woman, and besides, if I decide I NEVER EVER want to knit a shawl again, I can make a couple of socks from whatever yarn I buy to make it. I’m thinking Misti Alpaca, since other knitters seem to find it quite gush-worthy, and oooh alpaca.

***

What’s bugging me a lot is that I can’t take any knitting on the plane with me. That’s Bad, with a capital B, because I’ll be sitting around with nothing to keep my hands occupied for at least 15 hours. I was so excited to have so much time to knit at my hands, because I kept reading of people knitting on planes (most prominently the Yarn Harlot), and then I wrote to Frankfurt Airport to check – and they told me flat-out that I couldn’t take anything that pointy on a plane. Crap.

So I’m packing three books, have an audiobook version of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander on my Ipod (though I usually fall asleep if I listen to audiobooks when I’m not knitting), and I’ll just cross my fingers and hope I don’t die from boredom. Honestly, I don’t know how other people do it anymore.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Long time no blog… at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

