So Im moving to New York…

March 4, 2009 § Leave a comment

I’m in Odessa, NY, visiting my host family from my exchange year back in 2005/06, and it’s great.

The flight, as expected, was cold and boring without knitting. After all, I was on the road for a total of 20 hours. What a waste of time! But at least I had my Swallowtail shawl on me to keep me warm during the transatlantic flight, so that’s something. Plus, when I finally, finally arrived in Elmira and was done being crushed in bear hugs by Adam and pulled out the scarf he was supposed to get Christmas 2007, he was super excited, which was a reward in itself. Albeit more than a year late.

My ‘little’ ‘brother’ has taken up knitting! Little is in quotation marks because he towers over me at 6’2″ or 3″, brother because he’s… well, not blood, but my brother in all other things. He’s grown up so much since I saw him the last time! Sophomore in high school, and a knitter to boot! Granted, he’s very much a beginner,  self-taught with videos off Google, but he isn’t bad for that. And an English knitter, which is super interesting to me because I’ve never seen that IRL.

But yeah. I’ve already taught him how to cable (without a cable needle, too!), and he’s just drinking up the knowledge – he’s also starting to convert to Continental cause he likes it better. We’re gonna go down and buy him some yarn and DPNs and I’m gonna show him how to knit socks. Yay!

On a not-so-happy note, I broke one of my Harmonies last night :/ I don’t even know how it happened, but OF COURSE I didn’t bring the backup needle, so I knit with a bamboo needle I had with and later switched to four needles – you can knit a mitt on four, so… still, I’m gonna have to go and buy another set. Not that I mind, precisely, but… okay, I’m kinda glad I have an excuse to buy needles XD who am I trying to kid, seriously :P

So yes, Martin and I are having a fabulous time talking about knitting and knitting, Adam loves his scarf, I’m hoping to go yarn shopping in the next couple of days… life is awesome. Except for the snow.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading So Im moving to New York… at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

