It’s a kind of magic

March 27, 2009 § Leave a comment

It’s weird, knitting. And the more I do it, the more I think there might be magic involved.

I’m not talking about the whole magic feeling of turning string into something useful. Certainly, that seems magical, and I marvel at it constantly, but there’s nothing… mysterious about it. It’s loops through loops and there’s a system behind it that’s been working for more than a thousand years.

No, I’m talking about the fact that you can wait, and wait, and wait for something, and the minute you decide that after all, this forced pause might be long enough to knit and get out your project – the doctor calls your name, the train arrives, the red light turns green, the traffic jam dissolves. I’ve waited for peopleĀ  to arrive forever, and they called or I heard them pull in before I could get my needle into the second stitch.

That’s not only magic, that’s damn inconvenient.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s a kind of magic at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

