I’m a banana tree…

April 5, 2009 § 2 Comments

… and slightly drunk.

We had a barbecue at Christan’s – six or seven people total, and I was sort of in the role of the co-hostess. Which was weird, considering I don’t actually live there. Officially, at least. Considering how much time I spend there… but that’s another topic for another day.

Before everybody arrived, me, Christian and his sorta-bf Jörn sat on the balcony, with him casting on the socks for his mom, Jörn smoking, and me working on shawls. For, lo and behold, I have delivered the Swallowtail Shawl from its impending doom in the realm of Forgetfulness! It’s weird, I thought there was a mistake and there wasn’t one… so it’s been sitting around for a couple of weeks for nothing at all.

Oh well. I’m almost done with the LotV, only one pattern row to go (at least that’s what I think) and then it’s only the two edging charts. And then I can block it. I’m still not sure about blocking alpaca, I think I read somewhere that you should’t block it by full immersion, which is the way I’ve done before, but rather pin it out and spray it with water. Hm. I’m excited though. It’s gonna be HUGE.

The other shawl is coming along fine. I actually took half a backpack of half-balls of sock yarn with me and knit all the way through the bbq AND in the karaoke bar we went to afterward, which might have convinced his friends that I was a little on the loony side. I finished with the pink/purple, did an orange/teal strip, and just now started a plum strip of Trekking. Yay for productivity.

In other news… um. A couple of random bits and pieces that happened or that I learned today.

  • I was blamed for effeminating Christan (even more) by teaching him how to knit, which I took full responsibility for. Proudly.
  • Also, this afternoon I found something the Yarn Harlot linked to, and it’s Barack Obama holding a sock. Omg!
  • I discovered I can knit drunk as well. At least stockinette. Mind you, that’s what I’m thinking now though, tomorrow morning I’ll probably freak out over how much I’m gonna have to frog.
  • My Sand Shawl is keeping my very nice and cozy once the sun goes down. It’s still a nice 12°C outside, but that’s still kinda chilly, and I was glad for it. I never would’ve thought that fabric with that many holes could keep you so warm!
  • Men are weird.
Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to I’m a banana tree…

  • ToiledAraignee says:

    12 degrees Celsius? What I wouldn’t give for your lovely weather =).
    Yay to productivity! I was doing the 30hr Famine at my school last night, and I brought a sock-to-be for my mother… And returned home with a sock-to-be. Lol =). Any new pictures of the sock shawl?

  • wollphilie says:

    12° was just what we had at night – during the day, it was up to 24°! It was awesome. It cooled down a bit today, but it’s still warm enough for a t-shirt over jeans, with only the occasional addition of a shawl. Perfect, if you ask me.

    And no, no new shawl pictures. I’m kinda angry at myself, because we went to the zoo today and I could’ve taken a shawl picture with Horst the alpaca or something, but alas. More pictures soonish, Uni is starting back up tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m a banana tree… at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

