Let’s paint the night with color

April 16, 2009 § 2 Comments

I’d like to – if I may – take you on a strange journey. A journey that involves me having glitter everywhere thanks to my stupid tshirt, and a whole ton of pictures.

First of all, I don’t think I ever showed off the handspun, plant dyed yarn I bought at the mini Renaissance fair over Easter. I already wound the orange skeins and started a hat with them, although I didn’t come very far.
IMG_1730 IMG_1720

Then, I was randomly overcome with the urge to knit socks. Simple, mindless, colorful socks, i.e. everything the Python was not. So I ruthlessly pulled out my other set of bamboo 2.5/15 dpns out of the glove they were in, grabbed a ball of yarn out of my sock yarn drawer, and stuffed them in my knitting bag. In the tram, on the way to Christian, I realized something as I cast the sock on: This semester, I’m taking Brazilian Portuguese as another language. And guess what the colorway is called!!
Voilà, o Brasíl. O Brasíl do Augustusplatz.
IMG_1808

I would have more than one sock if I hadn’t worked on Christian’s pair yesterday – finished the first one and cast on and almost finished the ribbing on the second one. Deadline’s approaching… poor thing. He’ll really have to work on them now.

And last but not least – lo and behold! The Swallotail Shawl, the European Python, is finally finished! Blocked! Taken out to photograph! So there you go.

IMG_1718

I got up half an hour early to block it – I just pinned it out and then sprayed it with water, following the advice on Knitty concerning Alpaca.
IMG_1736

Coming back from my classes, there it was, gloriously bathed in sunlight, and my breath literally caught.
IMG_1717

I mean, look at it! Look at all the wee little stitches! In the skinny little yarn! And the wee nubs! It seriously has me reduced to squeeing whenever I see it. I’m still not entirely convinced it won’t break if someone touches it without the proper respect, it’s just so… delicate. I was really afraid to pick it up after I pulled out the pins.
IMG_1768

And it’s so light and airy! Seriously, when I say light, I mean like… 60 grams at the most. I know it’s more than 50g because I used more than one ball, but it can’t be much more.
IMG_1781

Wheeeeee!

And look at the sky! Have you noticed the sky? I’ll give you a better picture:

IMG_1753

LOOK AT THE SKY! It’s so unreal! It’s so ridiculously, amazingly blue! And it’s been like this forever! All the colors! It’s summer!

Also, I’d like the time to recommend a movie: Shortbus. Intense, emotional, unapologetic. It’s kinda weird, but it’s also one of the best movies I’ve ever seen.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Let’s paint the night with color

  • ToiledAraignee says:

    Ooh, that handspun’s nice! What’s the hat going to look like, or is it just an “as-i-go” sort of chapeau?

    The swallowtail is gorgeous. It looks so fragile too, like if you touched it, all the yarn would crumble. I applaud you, it’s beautiful =).

  • wollphilie says:

    that’s exactly what I fear about the Swallowtail. It’s gorgeous, but so fragile. I think I’m going to give it away though, to my grandma.

    I’m pretty much making the hat up as I go – right now, it’s two-row stripes with a row of every other stitch slipped, so the colors alternate in that row. I’ve sort of already lost interest though – what was I thinking, starting a worsted-weight hat in summer? (though it’s raining today. maybe. but the socks are so close to completition, and Christian and I are doing a teamwork effort to make one of my roomies a bikini top)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Let’s paint the night with color at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

