The dream is alive

April 24, 2009 § 2 Comments

I am… alone. Well, the dog is flopped down on my floor in a pretty good imitation of a bedside rug, but apart from that… I’m alone. Pami has gone home, my roomies are… somewhere. At their parents’ and god knows where, respectively, but if you ask me, they can stay there for just a bit. My room is sleeping-bag-less, there’s nobody tinkering away in the kitchen, no music except mine, nobody on the phone… I have my door wide open, and it’s still quiet. I can’t even comply to habit and call Christian, since he’s at his parents’ halfway across Germany.

Funny how the smallest things can seem like paradise.

Don’t get me wrong – 90% of the time, I love having flatmates. You don’t come home to a dark, empty apartment, there’s always someone around if you want company, you only have to do part of the housework, yet at the same time you have your own space you can retreat to if it gets too much. Plus right now, I’m enjoying all the advantages of having a dog without actually being responsible for him, and my human roomies are great people, too. I like living with them a lot. I like cooking and eating with them, and just hanging out, and they enjoy my knitting, which is pretty much perfect.

But, you know. This week, retreat was not an option, because Pami was here and sleeping in my room and all that. I’m glad she visited and all that, but the lack of alonetime drove me insane. Plus, you know, I’ve been very much up and about since Easter Monday, with barely a moment to myself, and I’m just not that much of a people person.

But now, blessed, blessed silence all around me. Now, excuse me, I’ll go and knit for more than five minutes without being interrupted or asked to fix somebody else’s knitterly screw-up.

And soonish, when my other package arrives, I’ll present my new, exciting purchases.

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to The dream is alive

  • ToiledAraignee says:

    Yay for alonetime! I hope you get a nice period of silence and knitting =).

  • wollphilie says:

    I was… even though I have to admit, I didn’t knit that much. All that stress-related knitting I’ve been doing the past couple of days really took its toll on my motivation… :P

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The dream is alive at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

