Supernova

August 5, 2009 § 1 Comment

Supernovas are, if I recall correctly from my vast amount of geeky knowledge obtained from watching scifi, the opposite of black holes.

We all know the knitting black hole, where you knit and knit and knit for two hours and measure and whatever you’re knitting is still the exact same length as before.

Well, I seem to have stumbled upon a knitting supernova. The Doctor Who Scarf is just flying off my needles. Granted, it’s just garter stitch, but in two days, I’ve produced, unstretched, about 5 1/2 feet, and stretched, I assume it’s well over seven feet. I passed the halfway mark about an hour ago.

This is especially astonishing if you consider that I’ve been monkeying around with a pair of socks for just over four weeks now and they’re STILL not finished, and they were not a particularly taxing pattern. In fact, they were Mojos. Are. Still. Will be, once I pick up my motivation.

And let’s not forget the fact that I’m skillfully ignoring Muir, which is hanging out by the sofa down in the living room, cleverly disguised by the fact that the upholstery is almost the same color.

Not to mention the golden socks I still have lying around at home, the pair that need the Starfleet emblem duplicate stitched on them, which is also the pair I promised Saskia a matching red pair.

So, I guess a simple garter stitch scarf with lots of changing colors is really the thing I needed. Something straightforward, mindless, yet entertaining with all those shiny colors.

Let’s hope I don’t magically lose motivation tomorrow.

And also let’s hope I can get myself to weave in all those ends. Kinda hoping for a rift in space and time to gobble those up.

*hums DW theme song*

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Supernova

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Supernova at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

