Is it a monster?

August 7, 2009 § 2 Comments

I always felt like most of my projects have taught me something.

My first scarf taught me to knit. My first hat taught me to join carefully, without twisting, and for god’s sake double-check that. The teal hat taught me that thinking you know the right number of stitches to cast on can result in gorgeous accidents.

My fair isle fingerless mitts taught me the importance of tension. Different socks taught me different heels and toes, and the importance of casting off loosely when you’re doing toe-up. My shrug showed me there are things worth knitting through the night.

Christian’s pixie shoes taught me there is such a thing as too many bells. My first lace taught me to not follow patterns blindly, check what other people have to say about a project, and not worry too much if there’s one row doubled up by accident – nobody’s gonna notice in a shawl that size.

My ambitious Christmas projects attempted to teach me that you shouldn’t start in October if you want to have 11 pairs of socks by Christmas, but unfortunately failed to have any lasting impact. Likewise, the Sock Yarn Shawl failed to teach me to weave in ends as I go.

But no project, ever, has taught me the simple, exquisite joy of binding off after having plowed through 11 feet of garter stitch that are gonna end up even longer once I wash and steam it.

Sometimes it isn’t finesse or a particularly well-thought stitch pattern.

Sometimes it’s perseverance, and a good bit of old-fashioned stubbornness.

Of course, it helps if you’re really, really entertained by the stripes.

**

Edit from August 12, 2009: I just linked this post to all the Ravelry project pages mentioned in here, and it’s hilariously overreferenced. And I didn’t even link all Christmas projects, or all socks I have ever made.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Is it a monster?

  • It got *bigger*? My god, how long is this thing?

  • wollphilie says:

    well, I laid it out on my 2m long bed, and with the tiniest bit of stretch, spanned the length plus almost the entire way back, maybe 1 1/2, 2 feet to go… so somewhere around 11 and a half, 12 feet. And, you know, when you wear it the sheer weight of that thing pulls it down a bit more, too. So… yeah. It’s a bit of a monster. Though I suspect that there are a lot of people whose scarves are even longer than mine. After all, it’s supposed to be impractically long XD

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Is it a monster? at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

