Shut up and brush the glitter off

September 3, 2009 § 2 Comments

Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to our latest installment of the Holy Crap That’s A Really Good Deal Time! *cue fanfares*

I went to the Wollmarkt in Hamm to get some kitchen cotton for making TARDIS potholders. I did buy two balls of pretty much the perfect blue, plus white and blue embroidery floss. And a crochet hook.

IMG_3377

And then I went to the section where they have the marked down and really cheap yarn that you can sometimes find real gems in for ridiculously little money.

As it turns out, surprisingly enough I’m not the kind of person who will buy absolutely anything if a ball is under one buck. I resisted the temptation! And am currently researching what in god’s name I could make out of yellow sport weight cotton/linen/poly they had for 75 CENTS per 100g skein, just so I can go back and buy at least five or six or all of the skeins they have left.

But I did go a bit wobbly in the knees at the creamy white Jaeger Langora. 70% lambswool, 20% angora, 10% nylon. 75 cents for 20 grams. (I just noticed that now. they’re as big as a regular 50g ball. wtf.) A perfect little halo of fuzz. Buttery soft. And, judging from the lovely shade of puce of the label, maybe a bit of an antique.

IMG_3384

Now excuse me, I’ll have to go and find out how old exactly this yarn I bought is.

[aaaand I have a ‘crochet’ category. Shame upon me!]

Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to Shut up and brush the glitter off

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Shut up and brush the glitter off at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

