This is Gallifrey: our Home, our Childhood

September 12, 2009 § 4 Comments

… which is the perfect title for a post that has indeed barely anything to do with Doctor Who, but it’s a simply gorgeous song, the live version’s even better, see it on YouTube here and marvel. Now. I’ll wait.

… no, really, I’ll wait. Zoom along.

So! Photos! Not one of the TARDIS potholder, it’s still not done, missing a couple of details, I have abandoned all hope for the writing, etc. Plus I guess I’ll need to block it, it’s all crooked. Sigh. Speaking of abandoning all hope, I’ve decided I hate what little I have of my DWSLCBP (you recall, the Doctor Who Scarf Log Cabin Blanket Project) and while I’ll not frog it, I’ll definitely abandon it. No point in knitting miles and miles of garter stitch of something I hate this early on.

But! Cool finished stuff.

IMG_3449

IMG_3450 IMG_3467

First Baktus, modelled by our dinner table and a slightly bleary-eyed me – I’d just gotten up, or maybe it’s just the absence of makeup, but I do like the photo, and it shows how I and the rest of the world wear the thing, that is, tied in the front over the tip. I have to admit, the more I wear it, the more this thing is growing on me, and I’m already contemplating knitting a stripy version. In blues or greens, maybe. I’m still maintaining my opinion that it’s a pretty basic garter stitch triangle, but it’s comfy to wear, kinda stylish all knotted in front, and the little tassels I added entertain me to no end.

Then! Well, finished is too strong a word, but the first one is done, except for the weaving in of the ends.

IMG_3456 IMG_3459

The observant among you will notice that this is, in fact, not a Rose Glove in creamy white yarn. Indeed, I say, indeed. I cast on the Rose Glove with the Langora, and not only was my gauge off, the fuzziness of the yarn also did not go at all with the cables and seed stitch, plus I realized that fuzzy mitts will mean the fuzz stuck in my mouth.

So I whipped out leftovers from the Doctor Who Scarf and started a subtly striped mitt. Knit in the round, then knit flat for the duration of the thumb hole, then joined again. I added the red stripe just for kicks, I rather like it. The other mitt will be reversed – starting and ending with big grey chunks. I think. I haven’t cast it on yet, haven’t had time, and time is getting short. Well. I have all of tomorrow once I’m done packing and running around like a headless chicken, and there’s still the drive to and the waiting at the airport. Though knitting this in less than optimal light is, well, less than optimal. Because I can’t tell the purple and grey apart. Oops.

Update on TARDIS-Sock: Still not king. Uh, sock.

IMG_3486

But other than that, it was a gorgeous day, I baked cookies, bought fabulous new shoes and a bright orange umbrella, zoomed around at 100km/h with the window down, sunroof open, and Queen’s ‘One Vision’ blasting as loud as I could stand, and the sun was OUT, baby.

IMG_3470

I can already smell the autumn in the air.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to This is Gallifrey: our Home, our Childhood

  • Bright orange umbrella? ZOMG! Pictures!

    The mostly-sock, and the mitts are lovely- and RIP to the Doctor Who blanket. Maybe you should do Mason Dixson’s modern blanket, that the Yarn Harlot was knitting… If you aren’t already.

    The Baktus looks yummy, and is indeed very autumny.

    I’m looking forward to being able to wear my Meret =), but shoveling snow is not happy news =(.

  • wollphilie says:

    Thank you!

    I have seen the YH’s posts on the blanket, but honestly… I don’t think blanket knitting is the thing for me right now. Especially since my Muir is approaching blanket dimensions, I think the last thing I need is another ginormous project. And I already have tons of blankets, so any sort of afghan or blanket is way, way on the top of my to-do list. It just would have been a nice way to use up a lot of yarn. Maybe I’ll do that Knitter’s Life Afghan thing the YH wrote about once, where you just use up all your scraps one row at a time.

    Ew, shoveling snow. Never been happier to live in a big house with lots of apartments – and a janitor.

  • Knitter’s Life Afghan? I haven’t seen that, but it’s nothing a quick search on Ravelry won’t solve.

    Lol, will you use the Muir as a blanket, or a shawl?

    *sighs* One thing I hate about winter. Shoveling. Ugh.

  • wollphilie says:

    haha, Muir is just slightly too skinny to be a proper blanket. But only just! So, yeah, shawl it is XD

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading This is Gallifrey: our Home, our Childhood at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

