I see before me a new horizon

October 14, 2009 § 5 Comments

I am inching closer and closer to the end of Muir. I’m, for the last time, on row 20 or 21, which means I’m done with over half of the last pattern repeat. After that, only the border to go.

The pattern calls for 13 repeats, I’ll have 18. The pattern has three repeats of the pattern next to each other, I have four. The pattern calls for 940m of yarn, I’ll have used twice that amount.

Holy cow.

I knit at Starbucks today, in my favorite seat right next to the window, with a Caramel Brownie and a Chai Tea Latte. I always order a Chai, and it’s gotten to the point where I pop in there and just specify whether I want my drink to go or not, cause the baristas know what I want anyway. Maybe I should change up my habits a bit, but it’s just so tasty and you don’t drop off the high quite as fast as with coffee.

Anyway, it was pretty packed, and an elderly Chinese gentlemen sat down opposite me. And kept making notes in Chinese, and stealing glances at what I was doing. He eventually did ask me what I was doing and how long it had taken me to do all that, and we chatted a bit in German and English after that, and I finally got to ask someone how long it takes for Chinese kids to learn to read and write properly.

Five years, he said. FIVE YEARS. – Dude, if I was a Chinese kid, I couldn’t care less about being literate. Some people would probably jump down my throat for this, but honestly, phonetic writing systems are far superior to ideogram-based systems. For ease of understanding alone.

Speaking of phonetic writing systems, I had my second Spanish class today. It’s hella exciting. And after watching Saskia struggle so much with Chinese, I have a deep-seated appreciation for the clarity and straightforwardness of Spanish. Yes, it’s gonna be a lot of work. But it’s supposed to be, and if I can get to B1 in two semesters, all the better. Plus, really. Spanish is so intuitive. It just makes sense. It’s like Latin, just with fewer rules. (I’ll probably revise this opinion when I get to the tense trickeries, but for the time being, let me cherish this illusion.)

So, an exciting time. Spanish is pretty awesome, Muir is almost done, and I and I can almost ignore the fact that I’ve been getting my ass kicked repeatedly by the February Beret. I’m gonna have to rip it back for the fourth time, somehow I seem to be unable to deal with a seven stitch wide pattern. Sigh.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to I see before me a new horizon

  • You speak Latin? Huzzah, me too!

    And yay for Muir.

  • wollphilie says:

    well, speak Latin is saying too much, but I’m pretty good with a dictionary :P but I do love it dearly, because it’s so logical and concise and beautiful, and has such far-reaching impact. And I was always fascinated by reading what people said 2000 years ago, without the filter of a translation that wasn’t my own. I mean, say what you want about Cicero (and oh boy, what I have to say about him, that old… boot) but, like… Cicero! In his own, beautiful, convoluted sentences! Virgil! Catullus! Oh, hexameters.

  • I don’t have my textbook with me, but there’s one author my teacher LOVES. M- something.

    The epthymology is amazing.

  • wollphilie says:

    Yes, I love etymology. One of the most fascinating fields of study there is, if you ask me!

    M? Marcus Tullius Cicero? XD

  • Martial! Agreed. It’s so fascinating.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I see before me a new horizon at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

