Some magnificient skyline

October 14, 2009 § 2 Comments

I’m… killing time, between walking the dog and making dinner before knitting my head off, and then I remembered, I never did get around to posting a couple of photos I took in London.

With photography being my semi-hobby, I feel like I should be making a separate category for it. I irrationally feel like it would elevate its status to proper, full-fledged hobby, even if that never stood a chance of happening with crochet.

Speaking of dormant hobbies, I recently rediscovered oil paints, and I’ve been playing around with them for the last couple of days. And lo and behold, with a little patience, my painting’s coming around.

IMG_5479

Patience: one of the many things knitting taught me whether I wanted to or not.

Anyways, London. I’ve uploaded a couple of my favorite impressions, and since that makes this post relatively picture-heavy and I don’t fancy scrolling myself to death every time I look through my blog (vanity, vanity), the rest is hidden under the cut.

IMG_3751

In front of St Paul’s Cathedral – I took a lot of pictures of statues, to freak out Saskia (Don’t even blink!), but this is one of my favorites. It was a brilliant day, and I pretty much walked my feet off to take in as much of the city as possible, and also give the boys some space.

IMG_3762

Next to St Paul’s.

IMG_3801

The Piazza in Covent Garden. To be truthful, I don’t remember much of this square beside the fact that my feet were already so sore the cobblestones felt a bit like hot coals. Which is a shame, because Covent Garden is really, really cool.

IMG_3809

A very small church sandwiched between two streets, right opposite King’s College.

IMG_4178

Victoria and Albert Museum, outside. One day I’ll have to post a bunch of the pictures I took inside, esp. in the textile collection, but… some other day.

IMG_4222

Christian and me posing in Camden Town, next to the Locks.

IMG_4339

Westminster Abbey.

IMG_4370

For some odd reason, this is my favorite picture of the whole trip. And believe me, there’s enough competition – I took over 1600 pictures, which makes an average of 160 a day, and that’s pretty freakin’ insane, if you ask me. This one feels like some kind of postcard, even if it’s crooked, and even if Christian has a hole in his t-shirt and I cut off half of Big Ben. But all these things add up to a certain sweetness, imho. So, yeah.

IMG_4606

Off the caries-inducing sweetness to FINGERLESS GLOVES FOR A HUNDRED AND FIFTY POUNDS. At Harrod’s. The WTF persists.

IMG_5043

View out of the British Museum.

IMG_5056

Second favorite picture of the trip.

IMG_5169

Also very high up on the favorites list. Reminds me of Mary Poppins and Peter Pan, for some reason.

IMG_5161

LOOK AT THAT HOLY SHIT IT’S JOHN BARROWMAN and it’s a terribly unflattering picture, he looks ten years older than he is, but dude, that is without zoom, and also, OMG I MET JOHN BARROWMAN!!!

/sqee

IMG_5170

Playhouse Theatre, exterior view. Herman Melville, author of Moby Dick, lived right next to the stage door.

IMG_5174

Playhouse Theatre, interior view, way before the show started. Just me, and tons and tons of plush. It’s such an old theatre, and the stage is kinda worn, but… I dunno, but in there, I got an idea of what they mean when they say the stage is the boards the world is made of.

**

And that was a very, VERY short summary of my trip. I’ll post some more, sometime, but now – dinner.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Some magnificient skyline

  • AAAAAAAH! I BLINKED!

    Zomfg, Barrowman <3.

    The pictures are so lovely, and your painting is beautiful.

  • wollphilie says:

    I know, eeep Barrowman. Sigh. I wish I could see him again, and I had these exuberant tentative plans to pop over to London for a weekend, but looks like that isn’t likely to work out.

    And thank you! I try my best. (Well, actually, I did the point-and-shoot thing a lot in London, but surprisingly enough, and astonishing amount of pictures turned out really, REALLY awesome.)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Some magnificient skyline at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

