What a feeling

October 23, 2009 § 4 Comments

I’ve come to the realization that taking Spanish was possibly not one of the smartest things I’ve ever done.

Mostly because last night, I copied out 150 new vocab cards, for next week, and it was HALF of the unit. HALF. Which makes around 300 new words every week, since we’re aiming for one unit per week. Or one week per unit.

So, yeah. The shock of these sheer numbers led to a half hour of feverish hallucinations of me in a big sombrero and a poncho, eating paella when I’m not too busy playing my pan pipes, and breaking into cow pastures every weekend with a red cape.

But then I did what the British do, and made some tea. (Have I shown off my new tea pot and cozy yet?)

IMG_5628

And then I made my current favorite food, which is Pomegranate Awesomeness, and all was well again.

What’s Pomegranate Awesomeness, you ask?

Well, first, you take apart a pomegranate. This is messy, especially when they’re so ripe that sticking your knife into them makes the plate look like somebody bled to death over it, and it stains your hands, but oh, it’s so worth it. I love pomegranate.

The way I get all the seeds out is that I cut the fruit in half, then wedge a teaspoon between the seed chambers and the peel, lever everything out, and pick out everything that isn’t a seed with my fingers.

IMG_5618

Then, you pour muesli over it (the one I like is with oats, raisins, nuts, almonds, coconut and possibly some other stuff). And sugar. And then you mix it up.

IMG_5621

And then you pour milk over it, let it sit for a bit so the oats can soften up, and then it’s just… awesome. Pomegranaty awesomeness.

IMG_5625

(I should really stop photographing everything I eat, but man. My food’s just so damn pretty!)

**

On a completely unrelated note, I bought the best buttons ever. For my tea cozy. Wanna see?

IMG_5630

Dude. Sheep buttons. Sheep buttons that have the right size.

I should really go back and buy the rest of the stock, too.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to What a feeling

  • I fucking love your teapot. Again, if it weren’t for that handy ocean between us, I’d steal it. And the cozy.

    We’ve got a teapot, but it’s brown, and unattractive. Maybe it needs a sweater.

    THe buttons are amazing, the tea looks delicious, and Pomegranite Awesomeness looks deeeelish. I dont know if I could handle eating the seed part of the fruit, though. I like shooting those at people ;)

  • wollphilie says:

    well, in that case, I’m glad there’s this handy ocean between us!

    Is your teapot a Brown Bettie? Cause in that case I’d be totally jealous – not that I don’t love my yellow pot to bits, but BBs are just so… classic.

    Also, the seeds… are in the little red pillows you see. They’re tiny. Eating around them is so close to impossible it’s not worth the effort. You can’T taste them, anyway :P

  • >.<

    I have no idea. If might be. :P

    True, but I've never liked crunchy pomegranite.

  • wollphilie says:

    is there any other kind?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What a feeling at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

