Pa-rum-pa-pum-pum

November 20, 2009 § 2 Comments

I just finished Opus Spicatum!

IMG_6112

I’m insanely proud. The ribbing was what took the most out of me, and what looks crappiest, but the colorwork is easily the best I’ve ever done, and I’m just very much in love with the pattern in general. I might do another one. And use the right needles right away.

But apart from unfortunate needle choices, I can’t decide what I love most about this hat. The little i-cord nub in the center of the star?

IMG_6130

The clever in-pattern decreases?

IMG_6142

The pleasing aesthetic, the calming shape, the easy-to-memorize pattern? The fuzziness of the yarn?

IMG_6137

Kate Gagnon Osborn is my new idol.

So… yeah. Right now, the hat’s hanging around in the sink, soaking in warm water and Herbal Essences (I’m a firm believer in washing wool with shampoo), and I already have the plate for blocking out. The stitches are even enough they don’t really need any blocking (go me!), but I’m hoping to increase the size just a bit, cause I’m spot-on with the gauge and of course my head is too big. Figures.

But, man. That hat is seriously gorgeous. I can’t wait to wear it.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Pa-rum-pa-pum-pum

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pa-rum-pa-pum-pum at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

