The Good Book Says

December 16, 2009 § 8 Comments

Got hit by karma overnight – cause as soon as I got too cocky, somebody apparently decided to knock me down a few rungs, and ta-dah, let me introduce the head cold from hell. Of doom. The musical.

Actually, no musical, but it’s one of those phrases that make everything sound awesome.

Good news of the day: my package to the US was small enough to count as a letter, so it might actually be there for Christmas. And it only cost me €6 for shipping. Which is a whopping €19 less than the big parcel I sent last year. (And I sent two of those.) I was totally anticipating to pay with my firstborn son or something, but no, what a pleasant surprise.

Also, it’s still snowing. Or snowing again. I’m not entirely sure.

IMG_6723

So anyway, I’m huddled up in bed, wrapped in a down blanket and two stadium blankets, I smell like a koala farm from the eucalyptus bath I just had, and I think I’m gonna sleep a bit. Maybe when I wake up I’ll be able to breathe.

IMG_6778 IMG_6759

(look at them lips! I swear, they’re my favorite feature. also, I’m impressed at myself, usually around this time they’re already cracked and bitten to hell.)

Tagged: ,

§ 8 Responses to The Good Book Says

  • I hope you get rid of that cold soon. They’re no fun to have.

    And you look lovely :).

    Pfft, you call that cold? Canadiangirl is skeptical of your cold :D. What temperature is it?

  • wollphilie says:

    right now it’s -6°C but at daytime it’s been hovering slightly below freezing and YES I KNOW CANADIANGIRL I’M A PUSSY AND I’D NEVER SURVIVE A CANADIAN WINTER. Except I totally would, with the amounts of woolen goods I own.

    Seriously though, I haven’t even gotten out my winter coat; I’m still wearing my leather jacket everywhere, plus copious amounts of wool accessories. Which might be one of the reasons I got sick in the first place. Who knows!

  • :P Towards the end of winter, -6 starts being tropical, and everyone runs around outside in teeshirts. We’re crazy.

    Ack, you really need to! Winter coat, and layer on the woolies!

    Haha, my school can’t really afford heating, for some reason. 1500 students all paying various fees. You think we could afford it? Anyhoo. My science class is so cold I bring four sweaters. One for me to wear, one for a pillow, one to share, and one as a blanket.

  • wollphilie says:

    1500 students? in how many grades? (no matter how many grades, 1500 students???)

    yeah, I remember that from my winter in NY. By March, I was hanging out in the snow in gym shorts. Those were the days!

  • Haha, four grades. Nine, ten, eleven, and twelve.

    Oh, I didn’t know it was NY that you were in! How’d you like it?

  • wollphilie says:

    HOLY SHIT. That’s kind of insane. We were around 500-700, with 5 through 13. How long to freaking graduation ceremonies take?

    Oh, I loved it. The Finger Lakes Region is really nice, and I had an all-round awesome year.

  • It’s a really big, old school in an old area of Ottawa. And I have no idea. I’ll tell you in two years, ‘kay? ;)

    That’s wonderful. Did you ever mosey furthur north?

  • wollphilie says:

    kay, deal :D

    I went to Niagara Falls, and wanted to go to the Canadian side, but my visa had already expired – they wouldn’t have let me go back :D But, eh, I didn’t travel a lot. Washington DC for senior trip, NY city with my parents, and Niagara Falls, but other than that, I mostly enjoyed the small-town idyll :P

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Good Book Says at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

