Wilf’s Hat

February 14, 2010 § 13 Comments

4235625106_a94916dcc0

Since there seems to be some problems with the Wilf’s Hat Debate – just to clarify, here’s my shiny PDF of my chart of Wilf’s Hat.

When Doctor Who: The End of Time aired, there was a lot of attention on and discussion of the red cabled beanie Wilfred Mott, gramps extraordinaire, wore. This pattern is the result of a bit of a community effort over at the Who Knits group on Ravelry: the very first draft was made by Anushka, but after test-knitting her chart and swatching around on my own for a bit, I realized I’d made enough changes to justify putting them up myself.

IMG_6938

True to the original, this is a six-panel cabled beanie with a folded-up brim. Knit it in red and find an airplane charm for maximum geeking pleasure!

§ 13 Responses to Wilf’s Hat

  • Toile-dAraignee says:

    Ooh :D.

    I’m watching The End of Time right now. I’m steeling myself!

  • wollphilie says:

    just remember, in the end, to breathe easy and that it’s just a TV series. :P

  • Toile-dAraignee says:

    I sobbed for half an hour straight. Breathing? What’s that?

  • wollphilie says:

    yes, same here. plus, from what I’ve seen so far, I’m pretty unimpressed with Matt Smith. David Tennant, why can’t you be the Doctor forever!!

  • Toile-dAraignee says:

    I agree! I’m very curious to see how Matt Smith does, though. In the advert for season five, Amy Pond, the new companion, ends up kissing the Doctor. That’s just not right. The Doctor is Rose’s.

  • wollphilie says:

    what’s even worse (I mean, Ten kissed Martha in her first episode due to entirely innocuous reasons) is that in the advert I saw, he had a gun. In his hand. Looking like he was going to fire it. And the Doctor does not use guns. The Doctor uses his sonic screwdriver and his wits and the occasional satsuma to save worlds and defeat enemies, since when does he resort to a gun, for Chrissakes!!!

  • Toile-dAraignee says:

    The Doctor had a GUN? WTF? No. He doesn’t use guns. Ever. No. Badbadbad.

  • wollphilie says:

    see, that’s what I’m saying!

  • Toile-dAraignee says:

    I’ll be watching the first episode veeery skeptically.

  • wollphilie says:

    yeah, me too. Then again, I still haven’t figured out when they’re starting to air the new series, so I’ll probably stumble over spoilers online before ever getting to see it.

  • Toile-dAraignee says:

    I was just on Wikipedia and it says that the episode ‘The Eleventh Hour’ (I just got that, actually. 11th Doctor…) will air Easter 2010.

  • wollphilie says:

    well, Easter isn’t that far off! I’m… less excited than I would be if DT was still on board.

  • Toile-dAraignee says:

    Agreed. If DT was playing, I would be over the moon.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wilf’s Hat at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

