Like she’s born in black and white

March 5, 2010 § 11 Comments

I just realized I haven’t blogged in a while… but honestly, I was sure there hasn’t been a whole lot to blog about. I bake more than I knit, I spend a surprising amount of time outside enjoying the crisp, dramatic weather, and I read more gossip than anything else. But somehow, stuff has accumulated, I guess. So, here goes.

IMG_7550 IMG_7578

I finished the body of my sweater last weekend – I still haven’t picked up stitches for the first arm, mostly because I’m suffering from an acute case of Startitis and Spring Fever. But, on the positive side, I finally figured out what kind of color pattern I wanted to put on the sweater – I’d debated whether to put the Fornicating Deer on the shoulder, but in the end, I decided on something far more awesome, and subtly geeky.

IMG_7319 IMG_7321

A ‘salt line’ just over the ribbing. To keep out the ghosts, Winchester-style. Thirteen repeats of the word SALT around my torso, and I’ll put some around the arms, too. (It turned out to be 13 by accident. Sometimes it’s great to be a fatty. Another lucky accident was that I started charting at random, got a 16-st repeat, and apart from one single stitch, it worked out perfectly.)

The placement isn’t the most flattering, cause it’s right where my jeans pinch in, but I’m too excited by the concept to care. Plus it’s kind of negative space, so you don’t immediately see the geekery, but it’s still there.

My I’ll-just-fudge-it Shetland Triangle (shamelessly ripping off Evelyn A. Clark’s version, proof that my ingenuity and wit is worth at least $9) is also done, and already blocked while I visited two museums with Saskia the other day. Good times.

IMG_7423

I had to rip back one repeat at some point, because I realized I was running out of yarn, fast. Even with one repeat less, the amount I have left over is scary small.

IMG_7426

Apart from that, I knit myself a new washcloth today out of boredom, and when it was finished after watching ‘She’s the man’ (one of my favorite feel-good movies, even if it’s kinda girly), conveniently took a bath. I should stop knitting new washclothes whenever I need to change them. It’s not like I don’t have a bazillion in my closet and hamper already. But it’s cute. And apple-y.

IMG_7606

I also started a hat in some lovely fingering weight grass-green alpaca, but it turned out I cast on about 30 stitches too much. So it got ripped back before I could even think to get a picture. The plan is to make a slouchy beret with the fir cone stitch pattern, and maybe some clever in-pattern crown decreases if I can figure them out.

So, anyway. The new Grey’s Anatomy ep just finished downloading, and after I’m done watching that, I think I’ll go outside and take a walk.

IMG_7569

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 11 Responses to Like she’s born in black and white

  • Toile-dAraignee says:

    I really like the last photo. How old is the bridge, do you know? It’s lovely. The colour combination is beautiful!

    I love the crisp spring weather! We’ve still got snow, though, how ’bout you?

    The sweater sounds really cool :). Is there anything else awesomely geeky on it, or would it just explode of awesomeness overload if you did?

  • wollphilie says:

    thank you very much! I have no idea how old that bridge is, I walked past it for the first time the other day, but I’m guessing it’s probably middle to late 19th century – most of the houses around here are Gründerzeit era, and the canal was built in the 1860s, so, yeah.

    I might do some duplicate stitching on the sweater later on, I don’t know yet – I’m glad I decided to do the salt line stranded, though! That would’ve been a bitch to duplicate stitch. I do have to say though, thus far I like the plainness, with only subtle hints at the geek that lives inside :D

    well, as for the weather… there’s been random snizzling – you know, when it should be drizzling lightly, but it’s too cold, so it snows? and parts of the canal are still frozen over. but the streets are clear, and what snow falls in the snizzling is usually gone within the hour, so, yeah.

  • die idee mit dem salt ist sowasvon geeky. gefällt mir :D
    allerdings hab ich bestimmt 10mal hinschauen müssen, bis ich es auf dem foto auch lesen konnte. hell auf dunkel verwirrt mich immer.

  • wollphilie says:

    meine Mitbewohnerin hat es auch erst nicht gefunden, mach dir keine Sorgen. genau deshalb mag ich es eigentlich, es hält mir nicht gleich ein blinkendes Neonschild mit der Aufschrift OMG GEEK über den Kopf – das tut schon mein Doctor Who-Schal, zumindest wenn ich in England bin :P

  • Toile-dAraignee says:

    It’s a very nice bridge. I love the stones.

    Well, no matter what you do, it’s going to be an awesome sweater :). Are you fudging the whole thing out?

    Snizzling? Ick. We’ve actually gotten to the point where everything melts. Which would be great… if my rainboots didn’t have a hole in them…

  • wollphilie says:

    well, the pattern is the Incredible Custom-Fit Raglan, which is pretty much fudging it with a bit of help :D And man, do I love fudging it. That sweater, the shawl, and I just started the alpaca hat for a second time… it’s just so much more fun than with a pattern!

    forget snizzling. IT FULL-ON SNOWED LAST NIGHT. There’s like an inch and a half of snow on the ground, and I am just SO pissed.

  • Toile-dAraignee says:

    This is very true :P. I fudge most of my mittens and socks, and they always turn out alright :D.

    Whaat? We’ve had SUCH an unseasonally mild winter, this year, and it’s been dry, and warm… And the rest of the world is friggin’ drowning in snow. WHAT THE HELL?

  • wollphilie says:

    seriously? oh man, that is so bitter, to have a worse winter than freaking Canada. (nothing against Canada. but aren’t you guys supposed to be the snow capital of the world?!)

    I did Primavera socks the other week, but it was pretty much just the stitch pattern that followed the actual pattern. I still can’t bring myself to delete the gazillion sock patterns out of my Ravelry queue though :P

  • Toile-dAraignee says:

    Ahah, it’s okay. I’m used to it. It’s really weird. I would very much like my weather back, please. This whole 10 degrees thing, is really nice, but really weird.

  • wollphilie says:

    let’s trade weather! now! stat!

  • Toile-dAraignee says:

    Okay, sending all my nice sunny weather your way! WHOOSH!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Like she’s born in black and white at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

