Oh the weather outside is frightful

May 19, 2010 § 4 Comments

After a beautiful April and beginning of May… the weather has been terrible recently, which kind of drags down my motivation as well as my mood. Which, after my last post, sounds ominous. But never fear, dear readers! Things got better before they got worse. There was a barbecue in my kitchen, chocolate fondue, drinking and fraternization with my Spanish teacher, who assured me I had absolutely nothing to worry about regarding the oral exam – even though I’m still periodically undergoing phases of cold, crippling terror – and lots and lots of therapeutic knitting.

Also, the third Leipziger Wollefest is this weekend, and I’m so glad I decided to skip the SPN con. It would’ve been a great opportunity, but… it’s all good. I think part of what dragged me down before was the uncertainty of not having a room down there, and… just everything.

Instead, I’m doing the Doctor Who TARDIS cowl KAL, and I’m doing pretty much fabulous. The yarn I ordered is a bit too teal to be a true TARDIS blue, but it’s still got that comfy feel to it from the color alone, plus teal goes better with my wardrobe. Adding to the comfiness is of course the fact that the yarn’s 100% alpaca, handdyed by Drachenwolle. Same stuff I made the Perfectly Cromulent hat out of, just a different color.

IMG_8442

It’s pretty spectacular, if you ask me. The color, I mean.

Speaking of spectacular, I made chili today. Knitting alpaca, eating chili, bundling up in an oversized hoodie and sweats after a hot eucalyptus bubble bath… yeah, it’s that kind of day.

IMG_8430

Also, I have a confession to make. It’s no secret I like photography, even if I hardly have the equipment for anything approaching professional. But…

I love photographing boring things.

The other day, I spent the longest time photographing my grey stadium blanket. I played with contrasts, aperture, color and saturation, and I had the grandest time. Photographing a grey blanket. And I’m really quite in love with some of the photos I got out of the possibly most mundane photography session in the history of the world – I like to think they exude a wonderful sense of minimalist calm. Which… I don’t know. I’m not big on minimalism, or any kind of stripped-down modern art, but I really do love these.

IMG_8360

IMG_8394

I know. It’s a grey blanket.

Don’t judge me.

*

Oh, also? My Spanish teacher has a blog… with this layout. Which was disconcerting, to say the least :D

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Oh the weather outside is frightful

  • carlarey says:

    It takes skill to photograph a gray blanket so it’s not just, you know, a gray blanket.

  • wollphilie says:

    I can’t 100% tell if that’s a veiled compliment or a veiled rebuke, but I’m gonna assume the first and say thanks :)

  • carlarey says:

    It’s a compliment. I used to photograph large stainless steel boxes and white dinnerware for a living.

  • Toile says:

    I really like the pictures. It’s very… Jared Flood. Or at least, the contrast, the colour, and the content. I like it. Very minimalist.

    And OMNOMNOM to the food. And also to the yarn. The TARDIS cowl looks so pretty. I can’t wait to see the finished project :).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oh the weather outside is frightful at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

