Hot blooded

June 8, 2010 § 6 Comments

Summer’s picking up speed, all I do all day long is sweat profusely, and my brain works only sluggishly – which must be the reason for this insanity: worsted weight. merino. cardigan.

Yes, in what must have been a momentary lapse of reason, I started Girl Friday last night, and I already have a good six inches. It’s kind of ridiculous, I’m so used to hundreds of stitches that I laughed out loud when I saw the back was only 107 stitches in the 2XL, which I’m making. 107 stitches! The front parts are slightly smaller than a round of a sock!

IMG_8806 IMG_8805

So, thanks lace knitting for putting things in perspective. I guess. Still, the pattern is ridiculously easy to remember, makes for great TV knitting. I basically looked at it, knit the first half repeat, and had committed it to memory. Very nice. TV choice last night: first two or three episodes of ‘Pushing Daisies’ until Chuck annoyed me too much to bear, then as a contrast ‘Shortbus’, which I hadn’t seen in ages.

Also, despite the utter annoyingness that is Chuck, Emerson Cod the PI is hilarious AND awesome. He’s this big, burly, black dude who… knits. Which explains my squee. In stressful times, he apparently finds the stockinette stitch especially calming, and he also freed himself, the Pie Maker and Chuck from a rather precarious situation involving body bags, wrist ties, and a car running on dandelions – with the help of a straight, purple knitting needle. Yay!

He also has a drawer full of money cozies in a lovely shade of light green. And he says things like ‘I’m gonna do XY… once I’ve finished purling this row.’

Working vigorously on the cardi means I’m abandoning the Garden shawl (aka the DicksWithWingsShawl) a bit, but that’s okay, I guess. I still have all summer for that. I should be concentrating on the Swallowtail anyway, that thing’s due in a month and a half.

IMG_8739 IMG_8728

Sadly, the warm weather also means the Tilting Tardis Cowl hasn’t seen any action yet apart from me camwhoring a bit.

IMG_8722

And here, exclusive photographs of the socks I cast on the same day as the other pair of socks:

IMG_8745 IMG_8746

It’s the old song-and-dance with the SALT line where I’m the only one who can actually read it, plus the dark blue has some lighter spots that make it even more hard to read, but I still find it highly amusing and don’t give a damn if I’m the only one who thinks so.

Now, one of the few good things about summer that I’ve discovered… I can pretty much live off fresh fruit and vegetables. I’ve had this for the past three days:

IMG_8678

Never mind that it was my side for biscuits and gravy today. *facepalm*

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Hot blooded

  • Toile says:

    It’s chilly here. We had a 30 degree heat-wave, though. It was nuts.

    Would you recommend knitting Girl Friday? I really want to make it, but I’m still a little iffy about it.

    The socks are really pretty :). Or sock, as it appears to be mate-less.

    I love the garden shawl, and the cowl, as ever.

    And nom. Your food looks delicious :D

  • wollphilie says:

    thank you! :)

    oh, don’t worry, the sock’s mate is my public knitting project. it’s just kinda slow going with 34°C humid weather, which is decidedly 10° over my personal comfort level.

    as for Girl Friday… I’m gonna be careful with recommending it, as I’m only a third or so up the back side. I haven’t gotten to any shaping yet, it’s just k1p1 and the lace pattern as of yet. From reading the pattern, it doesn’t seem like it, but I’d feel bad recommending it now and then finding out the armhole shaping is riddled with mistakes. (Unlikely, since it’s Knitty, but you never know!)

    But the lace pattern is very easy to memorize, very satisfying because of the short repeats – I’d say an hour per repeat, give or take. And that’s for the 2XL, so if you’re shorter and less fat than me (which, let’s face it, is quite probable) it’d be faster, too.

    Then again, I see you’ve been doing smallish projects, and I’m so used to long lace shawl rows that this is almost instant gratification, so I don’t know how your patience compares to mine.

    Either way, it’s stretchy, and texture-y, and even my muggle roomie got excited about it. If you like it, try it – but maybe a little later in the year :P and even if you decide to frog it, it’s knit in a pretty standard weight for cardis/sweaters as well as scarves and hats.

  • Toile says:

    I’m glad to hear that the sock isn’t mate-less for long. :)

    Thanks for your input :). I think I’m a bit of an instant gratification kinda person. That may be why I knit small projects. But I’d like to branch out into bigger projects.

    Keep me updated!

  • wollphilie says:

    Hey man, each to their own :) I used to be a major instant gratification type of person (except for that sweater) until I started knitting with laceweight. if there’s one thing to teach you patience, it’s a 200g lace shawl.

    Still – if you do want to branch out, this might be a good project for you. Honestly, don’t do a large stockinette project, it’ll bore you to death. Choose something with an easy to memorize, gratifying pattern that keeps you entertained but not too intensely focused, that shows you your progress. I think that’s part of why knitting this one is moving pretty fast, cause it’s so satisfying to finish a half-repeat or whole repeat. Five days of light evening TV knitting in, I’m up to the armholes on the back, which, yay!

    But, you know. Challenge yourself, but don’t put too much pressure on yourself. Knitting’s supposed to be fun! Some people just aren’t sweater knitters – my mom knit for years and could never finish an adult-sized sweater, but she churned out tons of stuff for my sister and me when we were little!

  • Toile says:

    Ahah, I’m sure it would!

    I tried knitting the Harry Potter sweater, the Weasley one, and it’s still stuck on the arms. Talk about miles of stockinette. It looks like an interesting pattern, and like it’d be really nice to wear around :).

    Knitting is very fun :). And very gratifying. I gave my friend an octopus, and the expression on her face made knitting all those bloody legs worthwhile :).

  • wollphilie says:

    heh, yeah, the Weasley sweater was the reason I hopped on the knitting train all the way, but it was so boring I did all kinds of small projects on the side. and then the arms were too long and it took me two and a half years to get up the courage and frog them, cause stockinette’s so damn boring :P

    I’m not gonna say this cardi is the first big project I didn’t need any side-projects, cause I’m 3/4 up the back and at that point, I was still going strong on the Weasley Sweater. So, ask me again in a couple of weeks… then again, I knit much faster now!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hot blooded at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

