EXTERMINATE

June 17, 2010 § 5 Comments

IMG_8960

(a TARDIS-blue sky, people. a TARDIS-blue sky)

**

So, I might have mentioned in passing that I’m a bit of a geek.

And also, the astute may have noticed that sometimes, I have just the slightest tendency to knit geeky stuff.

Ahem.

There may be just the slightest possibility that… I’m knitting a Dalek vest.

IMG_8995 IMG_8994

I swear, it started out as a joke! I was reading a fanfic that had geek!Jensen own a Dalek costume, and Saskia and I were talking about how awesome it would be to have one, and how I should knit one, and… and then I kind of immediately ripped back the slightly, subtly geeky Ghostproof sweater, wound the 4-ply yarn into 8-ply, and started charting, and here I am, with the first of three rows of circles finished and only stopping because I have to study at some point and also I need a breather from intarsia.

IMG_8996 IMG_8997

Seriously, intarsia! Holy crap. This is my first intarsia project, and while it’s kind of fun, I haven’t yet figured out a technique to get rid of the tangling. As of now, I’m using two little balls of yarn to freezer bags with the corners cut off, and it’s working moderately well, but it still kinda fries my brain. And I still get tangled up.

IMG_8999

I had to pick up the front of my cardi a couple of times to do some calming down (especially before I got the freezer bags), but, you know. I’m thinking it may be kind of worth it, though it’s definitely a long way off from becoming my favorite technique ever. (Then again, nothing will ever beat lace, so…)

IMG_8998

That’s already a lot of Whose Line episodes right there! I just try to keep calm and carry on, and I chant ‘With great effort comes great satsifaction’ under my breath a lot. It’s a good thing to make those things round-ish, I needed 14 center stitches instead of 9, so I’ve already finished a third instead of a quarter of the lower body. Right now I’m just trying to decide whether I should make the dots in the other two rows the same size or have them get smaller as we go up. I’ll mull that over a bit, since I really need to get to that studying I’ve been pushing back to get some knitting in. oÔ

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to EXTERMINATE

  • Toile says:

    So full of awesome. So full of awesome. I want.

  • wollphilie says:

    I KNOW RIGHT

    well, if I ever finish this baby, I’ll be sure to write the pattern up into something proper, I’d just have to chart out different sizes of circles.

    but yeah. OMG SO EXCITING.

  • Toile says:

    My mind wouldn’t work when I saw this. I squealed, and became incoherent. I would lovelovelove to make this. If ever you need a beta to knit this, I’m your girl.

  • wollphilie says:

    Well, I’ll keep you in mind then :) honestly, I’m kind of fudging it myself, so with a couple of my notes or even your brain, you could probably fudge it, too. you’d just save yourself a bit of stress with a pattern :D

  • Rhonda says:

    This is effing spectacular! I love your sketches — they crack me up. Can’t wait to see the finished item.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading EXTERMINATE at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

