El silencio se va al mar

July 8, 2010 § 3 Comments

A month exactly after casting on for the back, the pieces of Girl Friday are laid out and blocking on my bed.

IMG_9316 IMG_9320

From a textured pile of yarny shapes, laid out to see how they could fit…

IMG_9322 IMG_9324

… with bubbles and a couple of simple tools…

IMG_9325 IMG_9326

… I transformed a bed and some wet lumps of yarn…

IMG_9332

… into a blocking board full of things that are two steps away from becoming a garment.

Then sun is just starting to shine on my bed, and there’s a light breeze going, so I’m hoping for everything to be more or less dry by eight or so.

IMG_9333

It sucks I can’t sit on my bed, but at least I’ll be kind of forced to straighten up my room (which is, let’s face it, long overdue).

Blocking garments isn’t as strenuous as I expected, going on my experience with lace blocking. But this was more of a pinning the corners out in the correct dimensions and kinda patting the rest in place. That still took 40 minutes or so, but took a lot less needles than I’d feared. Which is always a good thing.

IMG_9329

Music of the moment: ‘Amanecer’ from the movie Habana Blues. Cuban rock. Oh, baby. Good film, even better soundtrack. What a summer.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to El silencio se va al mar

  • Toile says:

    I very much like this :). Can’t wait to see the finished product!

  • wollphilie says:

    thank you! I’m pretty enchanted by the pattern too.

    Also! Didn’t you ask whether I’d recommend this pattern for a first cardi? Now that I’m almost done, I’d say… yeah, I’d recommend it. The pattern is pretty clearly written, without kinks or errors (at least I didn’t find any). If tells you the most strategic places for adjusting the length of the sleeves, it has good schematics, and overall nice and clear instructions. Knitting the thing is a blast because you commit the pattern to memory so easily, but it still stays entertaining. Actually, to be honest, I’m kind of starting to think about making this again in a different color, or making one for my mom for Christmas or her birthday.

  • Toile says:

    Thanks! I’m sure that your mom would love it :). If she’s anything like my mum, she’ll adore it, and wear it everywhere, telling everyone you made it :P.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading El silencio se va al mar at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

