It started out as a feeling

July 16, 2010 § 3 Comments

IMG_9508

So, despite almost being done with seaming Girl Friday, I’ve experienced a major setback. AGAIN. And it again consists of me having to rip back the collar/button band (all 80-odd grams of it) and reknitting it with more stitches. AGAIN. I’m pretty much at the point where I just wanna throw the damn thing in the corner and let it rot.

IMG_9522

(Girl Friday as of yesterday around noon)

At least my seams are going well, which is a relief. I’ll have to find another technique for the ribbing on the sleeves, but! I do have to say, I like the actual motions of seaming, it’s just that it takes so damn long. Especially if you make the cardigan even longer to fit your long-ass body.

IMG_9528

But yeah, I’m good at seaming. That wonky column of stitches isn’t the seam, btw, it’s a randomly wonky row. No idea why it looks so weird.

Oh well. To counteract the frustration that is the cardigan (and to procrastinate from the Swallowtail Shawl, which needs to be done in a week) I started a toy owl in some gorgeous alpaca I had lying around since last year’s Wollefest.

IMG_9561

It came to me in a dream – it’s basically a truncated cone, with a flat-knit panel (consisting of eyes, beak, ear-feathers and colorfully embroidered belly) attached to the front. We’ll see how that goes. Right now I’m at the cone part, and it’s going swimmingly.

I really should be working on the Swallowtail Shawl. I’m kind of in the mood for a bit of math, maybe I’ll sit down with it later. It’s probably an issue even a mathematically challenged person like me can figure out in less than two minutes.

**

And now… for something completely different. Like guacamole.

Now, I didn’t even like avocados until last summer, until someone (most likely Christian) convinced me to try the guacamole on the taco platter we shared at a cocktail bar, and va-voom. Just like that, I was hooked.

So last night, I made a half-recipe’s worth of Pioneer Woman’s tortillas and used the recipe from my new Spanish dictionary to make some guacamole. (Yes, at G like guacamole, there’s a little info window with a recipe. How cool is that? Langenscheidt rocks.)

IMG_9541

Not that that recipe was totally extraordinary. It was pretty much like every guacamole recipe you’ve ever seen: an avocado (mashed), a tomato and an onion (finely diced), cilantro (which I can’t get, so I use parsley), a goodly amount of garlic, and lemon juice, salt, pepper and tabasco to taste. Mmmmh.

And then this morning, I used up the leftovers and made a truly heart-stopping brunch.

IMG_9572

Seriously, I wish there wasn’t so much lard in that tortilla recipe. Because they’re the best tortillas I’ve ever made.

Speaking of Spanish, I scored a 2.0 in my oral exam! Which is awesome, especially if you consider how I was convinced I’d fail it. So, cheers, guys.

IMG_9517

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to It started out as a feeling

  • Toile says:

    Which then grew intooo a hope :).

    Congrats on the oral exam! I knew you could do it :D.

    Eep, I hope Girl Friday starts behaving soon. I’m really looking forward to the owl, and am politely not mentioning the Swallowtail Shawl… oops :P.

    Mmmm, guacamole…

  • wollphilie says:

    thanks! I was so relieved I almost fainted. no shit.

    yay, you downloaded the song! :) I just watched that movie last night, by the way, and after having seen Ben Barnes as Dorian Gray, I totally expected Prince Caspian to ravish High King Peter. Which, um. XD

    Also, ta-dah! I’ve decided to finish the Swallowtail before wrangling Girl Friday into submission, because a) there’s that pesky deadline and b) my uber-long circ is in that shawl, and I discovered I hate working with two circs. So, yeah :D only 10 rows to go! (which is… around 5000 stitches. good times.)

  • Toile says:

    Oh, I wish that he did. That would have been excellent. My friend sent me the song on a mix CD :).

    I’m cheerin’ for you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It started out as a feeling at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

