Unter einem Regenschirm am Abend

July 24, 2010 § 1 Comment

So, last night was the Max Raabe concert at Schloss Augustusburg. For reference, this dude in this place:

max_raabe

erzgebirge-augustusburg

Unfortunately, to say that the sky wasn’t quite as blue as in the photo would be the understatement of the year. The concert was open air in the courtyard, it was pouring rain, and as far as I could tell, we were the only ones without any sort of protective garb. We were slightly overdressed in little black dresses and blazers.

Needless to say, I didn’t wear the yellow Swallowtail Stole. It needs reblocking from being carried across the street in my backpack, I’d hate to see what would’ve happened if I’d actually exposed it to two and a half or three hours of pouring rain.

But other than the pouring rain, the horror that was the drive back (downpour, curving streets, and my rear lights were mysteriously broken, wtf), it was amazing. I think the rain made the contrast between the timeless glamour of the Golden Twenties onstage and us sodden lowlives even more striking.

It was classic.

It was definitely unforgettable.

I’ve never been that wet in my life.

IMG_9718

This is me, after 160km (about 100 miles) of driving, halfway dry except for my dress, which I’d periodically wrung out during the concert and that had gotten clammier than clammy on the drive back until my kidneys were just about to jump out of my body.

But that’s okay. We had a great time yesterday, we’ll talk about this for years, and we put the dog in a Union Jack hat today.

IMG_9733

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Unter einem Regenschirm am Abend

  • Toile says:

    Wave looks excellent in the hat :).

    I’m glad it was so good. I hope you dry out sometime this century!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Unter einem Regenschirm am Abend at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

