High may your proud standards gloriously wave

July 27, 2010 § 3 Comments

I love Scotland.

IMGP0100

I’m not ashamed to admit it, either. The Highlands are gorgeous, Edinburgh is an entirely charming city, and Scottish accents set my heart on fire. I’ve had a single-bagpipe version of  ‘Scotland the Brave’ as the world’s most annoying ringtone since August 2007, which has led to frantic episodes of digging for my cell phone in all kinds of places (most notably on Westminster Bridge, where I didn’t spot the lone bagpiper in time).

I’ve also been coveting Marianne Kinzel’s Thistle Design ‘Balmoral’ at least since January – that’s when I queued it, though I’m pretty sure I’ve had it in my favorites longer than that, it’s just that I got the book around that time. It’s an outstanding design, timeless, gorgeous, Scottish – and it doesn’t repeat. Well, the background pattern does, but the rest? Mostly line-by-line work of pre-computer charts.

The most surprising thing of all? I’m making ridiculous progress. I’ve been at it for five days, and I’m almost done with the second chart, i.e. the tops of the thistles. Granted, I’m doing half the design, cause I have little to no use for a circular shawl (not that I have too much use for other shawls, mind. ahem), but I’ve still put in a lot of hours, and it shows.

IMG_9757

I’m thinking it might also be due to the yarn. It’s the white Zitron Filigran No. 1, but unlike the skeins I made Haruni out of, it’s the second generation. Filigran No. 1.2, so to speak. Apparently it’s steamed at 1°C higher than the previous incarnation, which astonishingly enough results in an amazing increase of softness. It feels at bit fluffier, too, but what’s most remarkable is that it’s softer than butter. It almost feels like baby alpaca, that’s how soft it is.

IMG_9750

I had to take some leaps of faith – especially the asymmetrical-seeming kfb increases, which turned out to be perfectly symmetrical after all – but on the whole, I find it perfectly charming. The thistles are remarkably thistle-like, I love the wide mesh in the middle of the thistle-heads, the background is very textured yet just airy enough, and I have yet to figure out where exactly the row increases are hidden.

IMG_9752

All in all, it’s quite marvelous.

And also, I’ve been watching entirely too much QI to be unaffected by the brilliant Stephen Fry’s speech patterns. Oh dear.

Now excuse me, I need to tink back two rows to fix the background in the last panel. And also refurbish the kitchen.

IMGP0031

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to High may your proud standards gloriously wave

  • Toile says:

    Beautiful :).

    And I giggled hysterically for a while in regards to your ringtone episodes. My friend’s ringtone is the ‘NOBODY EXPECTS THE SPANISH INQUISITION!’ monologue from Monty Python. Nothing makes you piss your pants more after watching a horror movie than having her phone go off, and Michael Palin babbling that nobody ever expects him at you.

  • wollphilie says:

    OH MY GOD. I should get that as an incoming text ringtone… that is so brilliant!

    FEAR! FEAR AND SURPRISE, SURPRISE AND FEAR!

  • Toile says:

    It’s fantastic, especially in the middle of class.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading High may your proud standards gloriously wave at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

