High as the spirits

August 11, 2010 § 4 Comments

IMG_9963

Awo weeks of focused knitting, frustrated hair-pulling, painstakingly ripping back rows 110 to 70, and most of an audiobook as well as several seasons of QI, I give you…

IMG_9964

Balmoral, by Marianne Kinzel, from her Second Book of Modern Lace Knitting, knit semicircular instead of circular, on 4mm bamboo circs. Yarn: Zitron Filigran Lace No. 1 in white. Weight: 85g.

IMG_9967

Practicality factor: most likely zero. Wearing it slung around my neck like I do with all the others makes it look like a bib, but maybe I’ll find another way. It’s big enough to wear over my shoulders, it’s true, but I rarely go out without a backpack, so, yeah.

IMG_9970

Awesome factor: pretty damn awesome.

I can’t wait to start the English Rose.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to High as the spirits

  • Toile says:

    Gorgeous. And I love the copy of Harry Potter and the ORder of the Phoenix on your bed :).

  • wollphilie says:

    Heh. It’s my favorite of the series, along with Prisoner of Azkaban, but truth to be told, I just randomly grabbed a bunch of heavy books to bend the rod in shape.

    Fun fact about my copy of OotP, the first time I visited London, there were Harry Potter posters on the buses, everywhere… by chance, we’d picked the publication weekend of OotP! Which means I bought my first HP book I didn’t read in German in London, on the first day it was available.

    I’ve been a fan since 5th grade – did I ever feel old when the last book was published. Am I ever feeling old right now, with the second part of the last movie less than a year from now…

  • Toile says:

    Wow, you lucked out :D.

    Ahah, I won’t tell you how long I’ve been reading the books, then.

  • wollphilie says:

    why, when did you start? last year? :D

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading High as the spirits at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

