Every little thing

August 19, 2010 § 5 Comments

IMG_0172

One of the things that continues to fascinate me about the internet is the fact that it renders me absolutely incapable of starting a thing and staying focused on working for more than an hour.

We didn’t have internet for two and a half days – the horror! The first day was because of a general system failure in the area, and while we were trying to fix our router, a switch must have flipped the wrong way… and it’s a kind of unobtrusive one, so it didn’t occur to any of us to try that one, of all things, until this afternoon. I repeat: the horror!

On the upside, my god did we get things done. I spent all of Tuesday researching for my paper, putting in a surprising number of hours of focused, efficient studying, all the while rocking the hobo look:

IMG_0156

The hat, by the way, is my newest FO: Scotty’s Hat (the four-panel version), from last year’s Star Trek movie. It knit up so fast I didn’t even take work-in-progress photos – two evenings watching Castle, and it was done, which is quite astonishing considering how big it is, but rather less astonishing considering it’s all garter stitch.

IMG_0127 IMG_0138

It’s warm and huge and comfy, and I took it with me when Saskia and I drove the 150 km down to Morgenröthe-Rautenkranz to visit their Space Museum’s Star Trek exhibit. It was kinda cool cause they had awesome stuff there – original costumes, communicators, tricorders, phasers, ears – but it was ridiculously small. Basically, we drove two hours to spend 16 minutes in the museum (granted, we kinda ran through the rest cause neither of us is that interested in actual, real space travel). But then again, we drove through the gorgeous landscapes that is the Erzgebirge, had a truly amazing dinner at a little bistro we discovered when we decided to screw the sat-nav and follow the roadsigns.  And to top it all off, we zoomed down the highway with open windows, into the sunset. Because summer – or at least Indian summer – is back with mild weather, blue skies and fresh-smelling air, and the dreary rain seems to have been put on hold.

Still, I’m starting to get an itch in my fingers to knit warm stuff for the upcoming cold season. Hence the hat. I started another hat (Selbu Modern this time) today, and when I’ve had time to get into combination colorwork again, I’ll see how I’ll wrangle that Dalek vest I have hanging around.

Plus approaching autumn means it’s pumpkin season, which also means I’ve already made, uh… pie.

IMG_0100 IMG_0121

I, uh, yeah. I realize there’s kind of no excuse for this one.

Doesn’t mean I won’t make it again. Because puns in pie-shape? Yeah.

Tagged: ,

§ 5 Responses to Every little thing

  • Toile says:

    Ahah, I love the pi pie! It looks yummy :).

    The hat is really cute, and looks a lot like Scottie’s hat. Is that the SYS you’re wearing in the first picture?

  • wollphilie says:

    It was delicious!

    And yeah, that’s the SYS. And my first Baktus. And Scotty’s Hat. And handknit socks. It was kinda cold that day, but it was a nice enough cold that I didn’t want to shut my window and bundled up instead :D

  • Toile says:

    On days like that, I like wrapping myself up in my comforter, and wandering around like that.

  • wollphilie says:

    yeah, I used to do that too, but with the plethora of shawls I have hanging around, it seems like a waste to use something non-handknit.

  • Toile says:

    Point taken! I need to knit more :D.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Every little thing at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

