Ad-mitt-ing defeat

September 6, 2010 § 3 Comments

A couple of days ago, I started a mitt. It was a thing of beauty, clever and gorgeous on the palm as well as on the top; even the thumb gusset was delightful.

IMG_0460 IMG_0458

And even though the outside was great, I loved the inside even more, for all the cleverness and how you could see the pattern reflected in the floats.

IMG_0454

It was also too tight. I’m not really a tight knitter with most things, so it always comes as a complete and utter surprise when I do colorwork and suddenly my gauge pulls in by a quarter and I can’t get anything to fit. And stretched colorwork just looks silly. Not to mention I’d really like to retain blood flow in my hands this winter.

IMG_0461

So I frogged it. Well, down to the cuffs, because surprisingly enough my wrists are smaller than my hands, and the cuffs don’t stretch out. I’m slightly frustrated, but to be honest, not as much as I could be. If Girl Friday and Balmoral have taught me anything, it’s that ripping back to do it properly will pay off every single time.

Oh, speaking of which. Girl Friday?

IMG_0464

I’m wearing it right now.

And my favorite part, even better than the bold pattern, or the huge collar-slash-buttonband I knit no less than four times (yes, four), or the way it fits me perfectly and looks so damn cool… is the little ‘Handmade’ charm Saskia gave me a bunch of last Christmas, hanging proudly on  the edge of my collar  where everyone can see it.

IMG_0474

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Ad-mitt-ing defeat

  • Toile says:

    I love the mitten. It’s a shame that it had to be frogged. I wish you luck in the reknitting.

    Yay, Girl Friday! It’s so nice, and I love the little charm. Where did Saskia get it?

  • Shannon says:

    BEAUTIFUL sweater!!!

  • wollphilie says:

    Thanks :) It really is a beautiful design (Egyptian Mittens if you’re interested), I really want to do it justice.

    She got them at Knittybitty.de, a German online store, but I’ve seen them on American sites, too, so just try and shop around. Maybe Etsy?

    Also, Shannon: thank you very much! :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ad-mitt-ing defeat at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

