It’s time I was king and not just one more pawn

October 17, 2010 § 3 Comments

Guess what’s done?

IMG_1041

It only took a year and a half.

Most of which was spent languishing in a teeny tiny leather satchel I bought on vacation in Portugal when I was about 13, the poor thing. Without needles, too – I’d pulled them out at one point because I needed a 4.5mm circ, most likely for the Dalek vest.

Good things definitely came out of not knitting for a weekend. (Even so, it’s not likely I’ll repeat that particular experiment any time soon, if I can help it.)

IMG_1063

It’s ‘Miralda’s Triangular Shawl’ from Nancy Bush’s Knitted Lace of Estonia. Zitron Maxima, started on 4.5 mm metal needles, switched to 4 mm bamboo needles after the edge chart. 164 g total, ca. 1.60 m wingspan.

There’s things I could write about, like the never-ending Watson, or my sister’s cardi, or the Christmas Stocking that’s actually coming along quite well – but you know what?

IMG_1042b

I think I’m gonna bask in the glory of my finished shawl blocking next to me, and not think of those things at all.

(By the way, this is the first time I’m blocking a triangular shawl in the corner of my bed instead of in the middle of it. I don’t know why I didn’t try this earlier, because having straight lines for orientation makes it so much easier to pin the points down in a straight line!)

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to It’s time I was king and not just one more pawn

  • suddenexpression says:

    Great shawl. That color is gorgeous!!! It doesn’t matter how long it sat around as long as you finally finished it and you are happy with your result! And it sure seems like you are happy! I would be!

  • Toile says:

    It’s done! Oh my goodness, it’s so pretty!

    It was well worth the wait :). Congrats!

  • wollphilie says:

    thank you both :) I am very happy indeed. I needed something to improve my mood and not make me feel like an utter failure this week – finishing the shawl is perfect :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s time I was king and not just one more pawn at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

