Money, fame and fortune never could compete

November 29, 2010 § 4 Comments

Playing with my Macbook, I discovered that uploading my photos from my camera and uploading them to Flickrs was easier than ever, so here’s a long-overdue picture post!

I shall start with today, proceed reverse-chronologically, and illustrate (quite literally) some random items along the way. Yay!

Anyway, this weekend is Thanksgiving weekend as well as the first Advent Sunday, so I decided to throw a Thanksgiving dinner. I might have overdone it slightly…

IMG_1820

… keep in mind that this is for four people! Although somehow, miraculously, we have a surprisingly low amount of leftovers. What was on the menu? Rosemary goose (mostly following these instructions), Burgundy Mushrooms, Thanksgiving Mashed Potatoes, Sweet Potato Casserole, Buttermilk Biscuits, Cornbread Stuffing, Creamed Corn, Pumpkin Pie, Hard Sauce, and I think that was it. It was beyond awesome, and totally worth the spending two days in the kitchen.

IMG_1831

After dinner, we took a walk along the canal to aid digestion. It’s been cold here the last couple of days, and it’s even snowed – it feels kind of early for snow, but then again, I keep forgetting it’s almost December. Oh, wait, I don’t forget that: I purposefully push it out of my mind. Oh god.

IMG_1802

Incidentally, this was the first time I wore my Vespergyle mitts outside! The right mitten hasn’t been steamed yet and it shows a little if you know what you’re looking for, but I’m absolutely enamored with these mittens: big enough to fit my hands, comfy, Argyle… lovely, just lovely.

IMG_1838

Anyway, the pumpkin pie with hard sauce was kind of the highlight of my evening. Lovely stuff. I really like this photo for some reason.

IMG_1758

In other, less gluttony-induced news, I’ve been spinning! That’s 50g of New Zealand Lamb, dyed by Sandy at Alles Handgemacht, bought at the Bunter November event at the Strickcaf√©. I bought a bunch of stuff, including two skeins of BFL yarn and some red laceweight, but the thing I love most is this gorgeous 150g skein of merino from Handgefaerbt.com:

IMG_1689

I kid you not, it’s the most beautiful yarn I’ve ever seen. I don’t know how it’ll look knit up, but it’s rich, and subtle, and earthy, and vivid, and soft, and brilliant, and just so, so gorgeous! In every stage of winding, too, which is something I see rarely:

IMG_1567 IMG_1636

It’s one of these yarns I’m not sure I’ll ever knit up, because it’s so hard to live up to something that gorgeous.

So, yeah. In other words: nothing new in my corner of the Land of Knitting. I’m trudging along on my Christmas project and getting my instant gratification through cooking and baking. (Two days of cooking are instant gratification?! Somebody help me!)

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Money, fame and fortune never could compete

  • Shannon says:

    Don’t you just love your Macbook?! It is soo easy to upload photos to Facebook, too! Love your blog, the photos are beautiful. Is that some snow on the ground in the canal photo? *sigh* .

  • wollphilie says:

    thank you very much!

    Yeah, I’ve been playing with iPhoto all day, it’s awesome! I’m not too thrilled that it’s harder to get at the actual place the photos are saved – I’m used to and like the Canon way of sorting it by date in a folder I choose – but hey, you can’t have everything, and since I seem to have misplaced my Canon CD, I don’t really have much of a choice :P [ETA: and then I found Image Capture, and my troubles were solved. awesome!]

    And yes, that’s snow. We only have a little, not on pavement but everywhere else, and… I’m ambiguous whether or not I’m excited about it, actually. I love snow, but I hate the sludge that inevitably follows!

  • Toile says:

    I’ve missed your picture posts :).

    Your Thanksgiving dinner looks, and sounds awesome. You’re always really innovative with your cooking. It’s kinda inspiring.

    Vespergyles are gorgeous. I totally need to make a pair. I also lovelovelove your handspun. The colours are sooo pretty. Speaking of pretty colours, I need to get me some of that merino. Omnomnom!

    We have half-assed snow, too!

  • wollphilie says:

    thanks :) the Vespergyles are a lot of fun and the pattern repeat is really logical – I didn’t need the chart after the second repeat or something, and they would’ve been done a lot quicker if it wasn’t right before Christmas.

    I think there’s a big similarity between knitting and cooking, in that it’s an activity where you turn useless (or semi-useless) things into another thing that’s useful to yourself and other people. As grumpy as I am sometimes, that caring-for-people thing is pretty ingrained in me, and I love being useful. Plus, cooking is a lot faster than knitting :P

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Money, fame and fortune never could compete at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

