We’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet

January 2, 2011 § 10 Comments

A happy, if rather belated New Year to all of you!

I began 2011 with friends, a list of cocktails I’d always wanted to try, and when my hangover was finally over, a Doctor Who marathon and the first three charts of Spanish Armada in the gorgeous burgundy Centolavaggi Saskia gave me for Christmas.

2010 was a pretty good year, all in all. Despite starting on a sad note, it went on to become a year with a long summer, adventures, alcohol, music, near-death experiences in the gushing rain, academic and culinary accomplishments, drastic haircuts, and lots and lots of knitting.

18 kilometers of knitting, in fact, or probably some more with frogging and re-knitting, and a sock or two that might have slipped through the net.

Despite my undiminished enthusiasm, I’ve decided to cut back a little on knitting time. Not because I knit to much (even though I do), but because I’ve resolved to join a choir, read 52 books in the next 52 weeks, and dick around with sewing a bit.

I’m doing fairly well on the reading front – the first Narnia book’s almost done, and I’m halfway through TH White’s ‘The Once and Future King’ (I’m cheating a bit with that one; I’d already read the first 100 or so pages. Then again, I got it for Christmas 2009, so it’s about time I finished it). I’m terrible at reading one book at a time, so as long as I finish 4-5 books a month, I won’t worry about keeping them in line. Why the 52 in 52? I need to read more. This may seem weird from somebody who spends the majority of the day in front of a computer, but as nice as fanfic and the internet is – I need some more literature in my life! So Narnia, and TH White, and my Amazon package containing 5 Jasper Fforde novels should be arriving any day.

As for the sewing thing, I’ll see how far I’ll take that – but at the moment, I’m fairly obsessed with recreating some garments from the new Narnia movie, so I hope I’ll finish at least the waistcoat before losing all my patience and crawling back to my cobweb lace knitting for some relaxation.

So. I’ve finished the first sleeve of Thermal, I have five rows left on Henry, and I’m knitting a cobweb lace shawl for the next Max Raabe concert at the end of March. Saskia got tickets for Christmas.

Tagged: ,

§ 10 Responses to We’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet

  • Toile says:

    I do hope you’ll show us these fabulous sewn items you’re working on.

    I wish you luck with your reading. I looove the Narnia books. So much. The movie’s have been good too, but Prince Caspian was not quite up to par. Reepicheep was terrible, in my opinion.

    I hope that this year is a beautiful one for you.

  • wollphilie says:

    are you serious? I thought they did Reepicheep brilliantly! (If you didn’t like Eddie Izzard as his voice, good news: this time round, it’s Simon Pegg)

    a beautiful new year to you, too :)

  • Toile says:

    He seemed like comic relief in the movie, while in the book he’s very noble and valiant. He was quite silly. I’m looking forward to seeing the new one, soon. Have you seen it yet?

  • wollphilie says:

    well, I thought he was very noble and valiant in the film as well, but he’s a freaking talking mouse with a slightly elevated sense of his own valor – I think he had plenty of comic relief in the book as well. In the new movie (which I’ve seen, yes, three times) he’s a bit different, a bit… more human, I guess. He befriends Eustace (I can’t remember whether that’s actually book-canon or not) and just generally rocks.

    I loved the new movie, and the changes they made (that I notices; I haven’t read Dawn Treader in a while) were justified for making it smoother cinematographically; also keep an eye open for the textiles, like Eustace’s vest or Edmund’s and Caspian’s waistcoats, they’re quite amazing.

  • Toile says:

    Just came back from the movie.

    I suppose, as a child, I didn’t really notice the humour intended in Reepicheep. I always saw him as he saw himself, I guess, Cyrano de Bergerac in mouse form.

    I loved Eustace. And yes, the friendship between Reep and Eustace is canon, I remember it. I think that, although they played around with it, that it’s a good movie in it’s own right. I enjoyed it.

    And man, did I every enjoy staring at Ben Barnes and Skandar Keynes for however long that movie is. Also at Georgie Henley. She’s grown well.

  • wollphilie says:

    Well, I only read Narnia when I was sixteen or so – they’re not well-known in Germany, or at least weren’t before the movies came out, so I don’t have much of a child’s perspective on them.

    I love how Georgie is growing up to look more and more like Anna. I hope she won’t just be a child actress, and I’m looking forward to seeing her in more movies.

    I had the grandest time with Caspian and Edmund. I mean, they’re great characters of and in themselves (not to mention the fabulous outfits!), but the incredible shippiness of the two amuses me to no end every time I watch that movie. I mean, the suggestive swordfighting, the manly hugging, the fixing each other’s armor… seriously good times!

    Also, was I the only one who noticed that the Pevensies and Caspian spend INORDINATE amounts of time screaming each other’s names? Lucy especially. EDMUUUUUUUUND!

  • Toile says:

    The screaming names thing isn’t just you. Throughout the entire first movie, Georgie goes “Peter! Edmund! Susan!” But it was kinda extreme this movie…

    I kept waiting for someone to tell Lucy how beautiful she was. Never happened. Well, except for Gael.

    I agree on the Georgie front, I sincerely hopes she continues acting. She’s so cute.

    I want Caspian’s pants and shirt. The purple shirt, with the collar? And, of course, the man. Phwoar. But I think I prefer Skandar, to be honest. His cheekbones are beautiful

  • wollphilie says:

    YES I KNOW the costumes were so amazing. I’m definitely planning on making the purple shirt at some point, or rather the love child between that one and others (Edmund’s, or the one at the end) since I don’t like the very narrow cuffs. http://costumes.narniaweb.com/ is an amazing resource for things like that.

    I agree, Skandar had definitely grown up well, too. In fact, they all have, which is kind of crazy and mostly awesome. Well, except for Ben, who’d finished growing up long before Caspian :P

  • Toile says:

    Sweeeet. Thanks for the link.

    I think the only reason Ben had a beardy thing going on was to inform the audience that he’s older now.

  • wollphilie says:

    yeah, probably. I mean, he’s, what, 29 and tends to play 20-year-olds, he totally needed that beard to age up Caspian. What kind of surprised me is that Ben can actually grow a pretty nice beard; he always looked like the scraggly-three-hairs-on-his-upper-lip type of guy to me :P

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading We’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

