And now someone else is getting all your best

January 9, 2011 § 3 Comments

I think most people have a bit of a soft spot when it comes to babies, and I think most knitters have a bit of a soft spot for knitting baby clothes. And why not? They’re small, which makes them relatively quick and affords you the chance to try new things, and also they’re adorable.

The only problem I had, until now, is that I didn’t know any babies. Or pregnant women. Which is a shame, really, because there are tons of adorable baby things on Ravelry (like the Baby Yoda Sweater, which has been in my queue forever), and I simply didn’t have anyone to give them to, since all my friends, for some reason, refuse to have babies despite my insistent bribery with the promises of baby things.

So when I went to the Strickcafé last Wednesday, I was overjoyed to meet Annelie, who is pregnant, and even more overjoyed when it turned out that she is a terrifically nice person, that we get along swimmingly, and that finally, finally I’d found someone I could knit baby things for.

IMG_2268

Exploding ovaries all around. Seriously, they’re the most adorable thing I’ve ever knit. I think it may be all the garter stitch, and the tweediness, and the folded-over shaft, and the fact that both of them fit into my hand at the same time. Both my roommates went gaga over them as well.

And who can blame them? All the while I was knitting them, I couldn’t stop myself from mumbling ‘oh my god, aren’t they just the cutest things ever? just look at the wee little bootees! most adorable thing ever!’

For those who want to know, they’re Knitgirl’s Mother’s Stay-On Baby Bootees, in an experimental tweed version of Zitron Trekking Handart, color Nepal, on 2.25 mm needles (15 cm DPNs are just long enough). They have a very interesting construction involving short rows, but it’s pretty much necessary to fudge a bit with the seam, as it tends to be a bit on the pointy side. However, due to the garter stitch, you can sew the seam invisibly by sewing through the purl bumps at the edge; I was surprised at how many of the project pictures had bulky seams at the back.

I think I may have to make one to just have one, and to go gaga over whenever I feel like it.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to And now someone else is getting all your best

  • Annelie says:

    Thank you sooooooooo much. I´m writing just a short comment, because my English is not as good as yours.

    Also, DANKE sehr – Du bist so lieb zu mir und ich denke, dass das Mädchen sich sehr über deine Söckchen freuen wird. Wir haben uns schonmal sehr gefreut. Fühl dich gedrückt.

    Annelie

  • wollphilie says:

    aw, schön dass du dich freust :)

  • Toile says:

    Awwww, they’re adorable! I need to go knit baby things now!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading And now someone else is getting all your best at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

