Oh, thou who changest not

January 23, 2011 § 2 Comments

I know I haven’t blogged in a while. Mea culpa, mea culpa. But while I’m sure y’all would be much more interested in the Watson Sweater (mostly done, I’m only missing about half a sleeve) or the Spanish Armada (on first row of the print o’ the wave), I’m gonna have to delay talking about those until I have decent pics. And instead come back to the Bootees.

IMG_2278

As you could probably tell from my last post, I mostly made them for fun: because they’re small, and cute, and I’d always wanted to make bootees of some kind.

Pregnancy is such an abstract concept for me; I’ve never been around pregnant women enough to pay close attention to the whole shebang, and it’s just… you know. She’s pregnant. Whatevs. It’s such a bizarre idea that there might be a human growing inside another one, you know.

And this afternoon, Annelie popped over and we spent a very pleasant day knitting and talking and drinking tea, and somehow, something changed. Maybe it was the way she just kind of casually referred to her baby kicking and liking the music (it was Doctor Who, how could she not?). Maybe it was how we were talking about keeping a journal (kind of hard not to, with the half-shelf of journals staring you right in the face from my bed), and how she was keeping a pregnancy journal for her kid and how she’d written about the bootees.

And I realized, holy cow, there’s a tiny person whom I gave these bootees to.

And that tiny person is going to grow, until someday, in twenty years, when she’s graduated high school and is almost as old as I am now, she can hold those wee bootees in her hand, and marvel at how tiny she must have been to fit into these… and I’ll be the one who knit these, her first, bootees.

And no matter how old she’ll ever be, I’ll always be the one who knit her first bootees.*

What a crazy place this world can be.

* I know I’m wildly overestimating my own importance in the life of others here, but wow, in my head this is huge.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Oh, thou who changest not

  • Toile says:

    Well, it’d be big to me, too. Pregnancy is weird. But beautiful? The process of making little humans is… Fascinating? And little humans in themselves are adorable.

  • wollphilie says:

    I dunno, I think I never emotionally connected someone being pregnant and there being a new person being brought into the world, y’know? I mean, obviously I know that there’s a baby growing inside someone, and at some point it’s gotta come out… but I guess I never realized that not only is that a baby, but that baby’s gonna grow up and be a person and do stupid things and maybe great things as well.

    Further proof that I still have a long, long way to go until I should even consider having a kid. (Which is just as well.)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Oh, thou who changest not at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

