Perfectly sound analysis

January 25, 2011 § 6 Comments

I was in a bit of a knitting frenzy last night, because the end was nigh… and lo and behold, at 1 am I put away my sewing needle, cut off the last thread, and held in my hands my magnificent, gorgeous, amazing Watson sweater.

IMG_2385

I don’t feel any need to mince my words, since I’m ridiculously proud of the thing and will continue to be so in the future.

I didn’t really use the pattern that’s up on Ravelry – the lovely authors of that one are amazing in their own right and I referred to the pattern when it came to the shoulder short rows and the neck, but ultimately, we came up with our charts at the same time. Mine is more faithful to and more independent from the original at once: my chevrons are reverse stockinette like in the original, but I mirrored my cables so they wouldn’t all go in the same direction. Also, my yarn only bears a passing resemblance to the one used in the original in that they’re both yarns and they’re both undyed (but in different shades and of varying fuzziness).

IMG_2399

All in all, now I have a complete Watson outfit and a complete Sherlock outfit (well, except for the scarf), and what’s more, I totally rock. Because I created it from a picture, and it fits me perfectly, and I’m wearing it right now with a checkered shirt and jeans, while Saskia is getting ready in her room in her aubergine shirt with a black waistcoat and blazer.

I think we’ll raise the surveillance level to three. – Of whom? – Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Perfectly sound analysis

  • Toile says:

    Beautiful. I love it.

  • wollphilie says:

    awesome, thanks :) it’s been such a journey, and now it’s finally done! *does little happy dance*

  • KnitterInPink says:

    You SHOULD be super proud….that is a freaking awesome sweater!!!! I now have sweater jealousy. *pout*

  • wollphilie says:

    Well, get knittin’ then! :D a complete pattern is here, and I might write down my notes at some point in the near-ish future, and it’s really more of a TV knitting project than anything. Plus, you know, you can catch up on the show while you’re knitting the sweater (the DVD set is pretty cheap), and have it ready for season 2 in fall!

  • Rhonda says:

    What a great job on this sweater! I’ve been anticipating the finished project since you first mentioned your plans to knit it. No photos wearing it, though?

  • wollphilie says:

    thank you! :)

    well… I did wear it the other day with a plaid shirt and jeans and a leather jacket (which was all very Watson-y), but I’m never quite satisfied with photos taken of me by other people, so… maybe one day, when I’m having a good day :P

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Perfectly sound analysis at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

