From the mountain to the air

January 31, 2011 § 6 Comments

IMG_2511

To say my clothing style is a bit hodge-podge may well be the exaggeration of the year.

In other news: I have sore feet. After a good three hours of constant treadling the spinning wheel, I’d expected sore thighs or sore calves or, hell, sore fingers from having a notoriously overplied thread running through them. But no, it’s the tops of my ankles that are kind of sore. What a random place.

Apart from spinning, we also washed yarn, which I guess is a thing you can only do with wool people… Annelie had a bunch of beautifully structured by wonky-smelling skeins of polyester yearn, and we washed a couple of them in the hope that the smell would go. Me agitating the soapy water until my rolled-up sleeves were full of splashes, Annelie rinsing the soapy skeins and hanging them up to dry… it’s moments like this when I feel so connected to history, to long-dead people all over the world, sitting together to wash and card and spin wool, talking and being useful at the same time. Everywhere, all over the world, for hundreds and thousands of years, connected by the red thread of… yarn.

It’s a good thing I don’t have my own spinning wheel (yet), or I’d just sit in front of it today, moodily wishing I could go on but realizing that the fun would last about 10 minutes until I’d crawl back to wherever I started from, tail tucked.

So instead I wound the gorgeous yarn Annelie gave me into a ball, and started on Cookie A.’s Kai-Mei socks. Annelie, if you’re reading this, thank you again. One day soonish I’ll make you a pair of socks in a color you actually like.

IMG_2521

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to From the mountain to the air

  • Mneme says:

    Oh wow diese Augen … man denkt fast, dass deren Farbe auf die Sommersprossen überspringt … jedenfalls ein tolles Foto :)

  • wollphilie says:

    heh, dankeschön :)

  • Toile says:

    That yarn is gorgeous! And I love that picture of you :D.

  • wollphilie says:

    I’m so enamored by the yarn, and I’m not exactly what you’d call pink’s biggest fan. But it looks so much like a fruity, coconutty cocktail I just couldn’t resist when Annelie offered :D And it handles beautifully.

  • Annelie says:

    Das freut mich aber auch sehr, dass der Strang bei dir in den richtigen Händen ist. Übrigens habe ich gestern noch die restlichen Stränge gewaschen und getrocknet. Heute wickle ich fleißig und organisiere ihnen einen netten Platz beim Poly-Stash. Zum Glück sieht das Garn nicht so sehr nach Poly aus. Eine Strickjacke könnte es werden ???? Ich bin also noch auf Projektsuche. Ach, herzlichen Glückwunsch auch zu den tollen naturgegebenen Augen und Sommersprossen : )

  • wollphilie says:

    Ist der Geruch jetzt auch echt raus? Das wäre ja wirklich großartig, denn genug für eine Strickjacke ist das ja bestimmt. Ich bleibe gespannt…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading From the mountain to the air at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta

