Red Mesh Hairband

March 7, 2008 § 15 Comments

I love hairbands as a nice solution to spice up my short black hair when I don’t have the time to actually style it. Also, they’re a great stashbuster for all kinds of yarn – I’ve made hairbands from super chunky yarn as well as leftover sock yarn – and this Mesh Hairband is one of the latter category. It’s super simple, easy to remember, and almost instant gratification.

RED MESH HAIRBAND

You’ll need:

– some scraps of sock yarn – I used some red Lana Grossa Meilenweit I had left over from a pair of socks, and I barely noticed anything missing

– two 3.5 mm needles

– needle

Gauge: isn’t really important, since you’ll adjust the band to your head size individually. My hairband is about 5.5 cm (slightly more than 2″) across, stretched wide.

***

CO 14. Starting with a k row, work 2 rows of stockinette stitch.

Row 1 (RS): sl1 Yo, k2tog; rep from to last st, k1

Rows 2 and 4: Purl.

Row 3: sl1 SKP, yo; rep from to last st, k1.

Rep rows 1-4 to desired length (try to wrap it around your head from time to time), 2 rows in Stst, bo. Sew ends together.

Be careful with the length – this is extremely stretchy!

Tagged: ,

§ 15 Responses to Red Mesh Hairband

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Red Mesh Hairband at Wollphilie and Yarnwhoring.

meta